Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My whole family devoured these, even my picky teenager. I altered it a bit to make more. I used 2 cans of black beans, 2 eggs, 1 cup of breadcrumbs and half a can of corn. I had no trouble shaping the patties. I then refrigerated them for a couple of hours. I proceeded to bake them as directed but also "fried" them in a pan using pam spray before serving to crisp them up. Inexpensive, simple and delicious! Made 10 patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I took Eliza's review into consideration when making these. I did alter a few things, but OMG these things are fantastic!!! I made a triple batch for a July 4th BBQ, and I don't know if they will make it to tomorrow! Here is what I did: I drained and rinsed the beans, then spread them on a cookie sheet and baked them about 20 minutes at 350*. They got a bit crunchy, which is oh so good. I put a handful of mushrooms, a giant sweet onion, a whole head of garlic, a bunch of cilantro, and about a dozen small sweet peppers (unfortunately I used all of my jalapenos in my mango jalapeno chutney) in the blender, added about 4 egg whites, and the zest and juice of a lime. I tossed in the dried baked beans and salt and pepper, and blended til' smooth. Poured this into a bowl and added a tsp of each: chipotle powder, white pepper, and cumin, and a pinch of salt and a pinch of regular chili powder. Here the mix was very wet, so I started with a 1/2c bread crumbs. Still wet, so I added about 1c rolled oats. Still wet, so I added 4Tbsp flour. This seemed good (Every mix will have a different moisture content, so just keep adding until it works), so I managed to make 16 patties, plus a taster. I put the patties on oiled foil in the oven at 350* for about 20 minutes (was no longer spongy/puffy to the touch), let them cool a bit, and now I have them on cookie racks to cool before I freeze them (wax paper btwn.) I HOPE they hold up on the BBQ tomorrow! If not, I will reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Try using Sriracha in place of hot sauce :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
My first trial run was successful. My only complaint was my burgers fell apart easily. This was probably something of my own doing, but irregardless it was extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo Fernatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Must try it with Garlic Aioli recipe found on this site! Yummy!! Like suggestions given, I use more bread crumbs (maybe 3/4 cup) & add more salt. I use Pampered Chef's Mix n Chop to mash beans-saves soo much time! Also, use cheesecloth (or reusable, mesh turkey stuffing bag, found at Wal Mart in kitchenware for under $1) to strain all juice from veggies in seconds. In fact, dries out & holds together so well, that I'm able to add a small spread of butter to each burger for added flavor after flipping on George Foreman grill. Oh, and out of habit, I always stick in freezer for a bit before grilling or even many days ahead. They never fall apart on me. I serve with pepper jack cheese and fresh-cut veggies...and don't forget the secret weapon-Garlic Aioli!! Served mine on grilled focaccia bread...delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanels13
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Just made these, and they're amazing!! I only used 1/4 of a bell pepper and onion, I also fried it on the stove using olive oil, and it was still very good. I'm the only vegetarian in my house, so I froze the other four, so I can grill/cook them later!! Can't wait :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I loved this recipe. I noticed the same problem as many others; they tend to fall apart or crumble. This can be fixed easily by adding more breadcrumbs or some rolled oats. Also the garlic was a bit strong, but this was an otherwise amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I did not have the cumin and I used hot sauce. Also I added season all and pepper. I read other reviews that said add more egg so I used one egg plus one egg yolk. I baked them a little longer than 10 minutes on each side and they came out great for my second vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made these as specified except for adding a little rice. My kids love beans, but they did not care for this. My husband and I thought it was just okay. Nobody really wanted the left-overs, though I ended up adding them as salad toppings and that was okay. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I increased the amount of bread crumbs and the burgers came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,997) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States