Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is the 2nd time in 1 week that I've made these. Recipe made as stated except I used less chili powder. I also added liquid smoke to give it that BBQ meaty flavor. Def needs more Panko crumbs than recipe called for. I would like to add that this does need a salt to taste ratio. It really brings all the spices together. Today, I attempted to fry one in the skillet. Don't recommend that one..baking is the best method so far for me. Though near future I'll try the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
These were such a hit! I'm giving it a 4 just because I did have to do a little tweaking (extra bread crumbs and eggs to hold them together), but I cooked these for a group of friends and got nothing but raving compliments. It was pretty easy to make, and I think I might try to do them even a little spicier the next time - this amount was not too spicy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I really love this recipe! I add Parmesan cheese to the mix, and also Key-Lime Pepper. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I really love this recipe! It is excellent as written (I add salt to taste, BTW) and also serves as a template for variations. I've found that almost any addition of a low-moisture and highly flavorful ingredient helps to add a personal touch. I have tried these add-ons alone or in a combination (the variety is endless!): fresh or dried minced parsley, basil, oregano, red pepper flakes, paprika, turmeric, coriander, ground mustard seed, minced sun-dried tomatoes, mushroom, black or green olives, celery seed, taco seasoning, Italian seasoning, Italian dressing mix, ranch dressing mix, chili mix, et alia. I could go on but you get the idea; any flavorful and/or aromatic ingredient to your liking would work, used in place of or in addition to the original vegetables and spices (just so long as it's not too moist). Vegetable add-ons with more moisture such as corn, salsa or shredded carrot require some pre-treatment to remove the excess water; for example, I like to add a little salt to shredded carrot or zucchini, allowing some water to seep out, followed by pressing and draining through a wire mesh strainer. It's important to keep the moisture content relatively unchanged when making alterations, IMO. As long as the wet and dry components are in balance, your own version(s) should work. But after all that, I still like the original. It has a Tex-Mex taste that I really like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I love it and it's super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Awesome burgers, added cilantro, an Italian spice blend, Panko, Thai chille sauce topped with fresh grated parmesan. Horseradish aoli, tomatoes and romaine on a whole grain thin round bun. We upsized the recipe by adding another egg and another can of beans, one can whole bean and one can mashed. What a treat, can't wait for more. Beef is history, save a cow! Next up is fresh mozzarella on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I tried the recipe and it tasted great.. I had to add more bread crumbs to help it stay together. I had one problem, my burgers were to dry. I think I cooked them to long because I didn't follow the 10 min on each side like it said but other than that, it was good. First time ever making homemade veggie burgers but it will definitely not be my last. Thank you for a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This came out perfect.i drained the beans through potato masher after washing. Its imp. to drain them completely. Also I added 1extra tbsp bread crumbs to the mixture &grilled them on oiled foil.came out perfect.if u let the beans &crumb mixture sit for few min. It absorbs all the moisture.my patty was absolutely fine.my hubby absolutely loved it . Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I didn't think my husband would be interested in a veggie burger, he's definitely carnivorous, but he loved this and got excited that we had leftovers and so we ate these twice in one week. I did add some carrots, corn and green beans that I put in the food processor just because I wanted to get some extra veggies in there. Of course the vegetables that I added meant that I had more volume but it still went farther than I thought it would. It made 4 HUGE patties. I seriously think i could have made them half as big. I baked 2 in the oven and froze the other 2. They stayed together better after being frozen. Either way they were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Oh MY! I just ate THE best veggie burger I've ever had in my life, and I made it myself using this recipe. The only change I made was from green to red bell pepper because that's what I had on hand. I used an XL egg and found it to hold together well. Easy to make with your super clear instructions. Thank You Lauren. This is why I love this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States