Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by daddy mike
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Really good quick and easy will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddy mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
As a former carnivore gone pescitarian, I've been craving a hamburger but the store brought veggie burgers taste like cardboard so I wasn't expecting much when I made this for dinner tonight. I absolutely LOVED it! I didn't have green pepper so I only used onion and fresh garlic (I don't have a food processor so did a fine chop with my knife) and added a sprinkle of Tony Chachere's. This is going to be my go to veggie burger recipe from now on! Next time I think I'll add grilled onions and some sauteed mushrooms. If you are having trouble getting the ingredients to bind, try adding a little oatmeal along with the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Great recipe! I just changed to 2 eggs, added double the bread crumbs (actually I used crushed all bran cereal) and added corn. Make sure to dry the veggies and black beans before mixing , makes the patties stick better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I really didn't care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
After reading several reviews, I made this recipe with a few tweaks and it turned out great! I cut down on the cumin using half the suggested amount and added a half teaspoon of salt. I added a jalapeno pepper diced/minced and at the suggestion of a local restaurant whose black bean burgers rock, I used crushed up Dorito chips rather than bread crumbs. I grilled half of the burgers and baked half but cut the cooking time to 8 minutes a side rather than 10. The burgers turned out great both ways - my family loved them and I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I really enjoyed the taste of this recipe. I really wish breadcrumbs were not used as the binding agent. I tried using slightly over-cooked quinoa and they did not hold together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is a staple in our household. We all love it so much and it is so easy to make. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Too much onion, it over powered the flavor. I had to add some cilantro, salt and lime juice to spark it up. Would also add brown rice for flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I had a hard time with this one, but I'm a bigger fan of Romano and kidney beans so I'm going to substitute them in next time and see if it tastes better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was easy and fun to make with the kids. Not to mention flavorful and absolutely gr8. I seriously doubt if I ever eat another store bought burger veggie again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,015) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States