Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made the burgers based mainly on the reviews that I read of this recipe, therefore: used 1/2 cup oats instead of breadcrumbs, should've used 1 cup to make burgers denser, used flax seed eggs, added shredded carrots, and shredded pumpkin for added moisture,added worcestershire sauce,crushed chilli peppers, cayenne pepper (should've used 1/2tbsp, instead of 1tbsp, it's really spicy), Italian seasoning and 1tsp cumin. I processed the pepper,onion & garlic in food processor ,then sauteed them with the veggies. I also used dried beans which I cooked myself, next time I'll cook them longer to get a more meaty texture. I made sure to refrigerate burgers for almost an hour before baking and baked them 20mins per side for a crunchier crust. I froze the extras, and they tasted much better reheated .Overall i liked these burgers , even though I like non-vegan/vegetarian burgers better. I don't know how these compare to store bought veggie burgers , since I've never had those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spanish Town, Saint Catherine, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I liked it a lot. I don't have a food processer so I minced the vegetables and I liked it. Simple for a person new to cooking from scratch and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I'm stuffing my face with it now. This was such a great easy, fast, fun, cost effective and basic recipe! Next time, I will try it with corn, a little more egg or fewer bread crumbs, and a more spices for my taste since I prefer a robust flavor to my foods. I think I'll try cooking dried black beans for a really fresh change of pace! Lovely stuff, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Yummo! I sprinkled a little corn meal on the pan and it added a great crust. Not too much at all. They are really flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is awesome! This is the second time I've made it but I modified it and put in diced jalapeños instead of green bell pepper. If you couldn't tell I LOVEEEE spicy!! Also, in order to help it stick just put the mixture in the fridge for about 10+ minutes and it is much easier to work with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
i like the base but it is over seasoned with cumin. it should be noted that one really needs to drain their onion/pepper mixture of all water and let the beans dry. more bread crumbs could be used too if your having problems with water as i did although i did strain the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
These black bean burgers were soooo yummy! I now make a double batch so I can freeze leftovers. My kids also really loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
These turned out great! My husband is not a vegetarian, but loved them. I doubled the recipe so I could freeze more leftovers. I followed other reviewers' advice for keeping the patties in tact and patted the beans dry, added 50% more bread crumbs, and added an egg (50% more for a double batch). The patties stuck together perfectly. I also added corn -- yum. I used plain bread crumbs, but flavored or salted might be better. Also, next time I'll add a little more chili sauce or chili oil because I'd personally prefer a little more of a kick. Regardless, these were terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Loved this recipe, it was very easy to make. I did read the reviews and added a little corn, a little extra bread crumbs and one extra egg. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daddy mike
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Really good quick and easy will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddy mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States