Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I really didn't care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
After reading several reviews, I made this recipe with a few tweaks and it turned out great! I cut down on the cumin using half the suggested amount and added a half teaspoon of salt. I added a jalapeno pepper diced/minced and at the suggestion of a local restaurant whose black bean burgers rock, I used crushed up Dorito chips rather than bread crumbs. I grilled half of the burgers and baked half but cut the cooking time to 8 minutes a side rather than 10. The burgers turned out great both ways - my family loved them and I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Vegetarian alert! If you substitute Ritz crackers, you should know that Ritz uses hydrolized animal "shortening", aka lard, in their recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I really enjoyed the taste of this recipe. I really wish breadcrumbs were not used as the binding agent. I tried using slightly over-cooked quinoa and they did not hold together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is a staple in our household. We all love it so much and it is so easy to make. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Too much onion, it over powered the flavor. I had to add some cilantro, salt and lime juice to spark it up. Would also add brown rice for flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I had a hard time with this one, but I'm a bigger fan of Romano and kidney beans so I'm going to substitute them in next time and see if it tastes better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was easy and fun to make with the kids. Not to mention flavorful and absolutely gr8. I seriously doubt if I ever eat another store bought burger veggie again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
5 stars for a delicious no-meat burger and for ease of preparation & cooking. Made these for a burger-burn w/some vegitarian guests attending. The non-meateaters enjoyed these & said these were much better than the store bought brands. I (a lover of a good meat burger) wound up eating one of these burgers instead of a meat burger - grilled with green chile and cheese on top :). Delicious. As suggested by other reviewers, it is necessary to drain the beans very well and not mix the pepper & onion mixture in if its too wet. You will need to drain some moisture off as needed. You can easily add more moisture if needed - just enough to "feel" the pattie texture will hold together when cooked & flipped over while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We aren't vegetarians and think these are delicious. Our friends who avoid meat asked for the recipe because they're better than she makes! I avoid hot sauce because my toddlers eat them but otherwise make no changes at all. I bake mine and keep in the freezer for an easy meal any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,003) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States