Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
5 stars for a delicious no-meat burger and for ease of preparation & cooking. Made these for a burger-burn w/some vegitarian guests attending. The non-meateaters enjoyed these & said these were much better than the store bought brands. I (a lover of a good meat burger) wound up eating one of these burgers instead of a meat burger - grilled with green chile and cheese on top :). Delicious. As suggested by other reviewers, it is necessary to drain the beans very well and not mix the pepper & onion mixture in if its too wet. You will need to drain some moisture off as needed. You can easily add more moisture if needed - just enough to "feel" the pattie texture will hold together when cooked & flipped over while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We aren't vegetarians and think these are delicious. Our friends who avoid meat asked for the recipe because they're better than she makes! I avoid hot sauce because my toddlers eat them but otherwise make no changes at all. I bake mine and keep in the freezer for an easy meal any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Like most people have said, this is a really good base recipe. Without any changes it is a solid meal. What's great is that there are endless opportunities to hide extra veggies in this patty. I did soak out moisture from my beans and processed onion/garlic mix with paper towels. I didnt go crazy with trying to get all the moisture out and my patties had no problem sticking together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Good. = Burrito Burger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I like this recipe. I did change it to suit my taste. For example, I don't like green bell pepper, so I use corn instead. I also don't use hot sauce. I add cilantro when I have it because they taste better with it. I fry the patties in oil because I found them too soft when baked. I serve them on the plate with guacamole and tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
we tried this recipe and it is one of the better vegetarian burger formulas we've had to date. i do wonder if the amount of chile powder and cumin is mistaken. Instead of a tablespoon, I used only a teaspoon (for serving of four burgers) and it turned out great. I think the stated tablespoon may be a typo...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Best " non meat" burger I've ever tried to make. I rinsed and dried the black beans well and used a bit more bread crumbs. I also used Siracha hot sauce instead of the chili sauce. Doubling the recipe gave me eight large patties. The burger was moist and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Good recipe. I made this according to the directions. I had no problems with the patties falling apart and didn't risk the patties sticking to the pan by baking them on parchment paper. This was certainly edible, I will mix in salt with the other spices next time. It was a filling burger without the bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was a great meal! Doubled the recipe and froze the patties carefully wrapped in cling-wrap. Added parsley, salt, more hot sauce, worstershire sauce, liquid smoke, chai seeds, and cut back on the cumin as recommended. Even my toddler ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsi Thibodeaux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Great Recipe, No more frozen patties in the freezer for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States