Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I used 15oz of black beans, and both me and the person I cooked for found half an onion to be overwhelming. Not only that, but we could not taste the seasonings at all. The recipe basically tasted like onion flavored black beans. This recipe is a good start, but it definitely needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Delicious! Even as a meat-eater I loved this. I used Frank's Red Hot and went cumin-heavy. I also took the advice and froze them which helped them from falling apart but not as much as I thought. Maybe next time I will drain the beans and veggies better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The burgers did not have the consistency of meat. They were much softer. However, the taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I'm not a vegetarian but we made these because we had all of the ingredients. We used 2 eggs instead of 1. Used only a pinch of cumin and chili powder. And we used 3/4 cup of breadcrumbs. We baked them 10 mins on each side. Served on a light colored wheat bread. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
So delicious! Taking hints from previous reviews, I knew that my can of beans would make the mixture a bit runny, so I cooked up about a cup of red lentils and added that to the mix. I used Ritz (approx. 1 cup) instead of bread crumbs. This is definitely a great and flexible recipe, depending on which fresh ingredients you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Wolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I'd give the appearance an A+ and the taste a C+. They didn't stick to the baking sheet and browned up nicely without falling apart when I flipped them and came out looking like nice burgers. The taste was ok, flavor is pretty good really but they lacked in the texture department. It really felt like eating mashed bean paste in a bun because that's what it was. Next time I make these i'm going to cut back on the beans, finely chop and sautee some mushrooms and add some cooked bulgar too. I think these things would add some much needed toothsomeness to the burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I didn't like the taste. My fiancé loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Love this recipe. So easy and delicious. I make a vegan version by substituting the egg and breadcrumbs with oatmeal made from steel cut oats. Mix enough in and it binds the ingredients brilliantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Even my meat loving husband enjoyed these. We grilled them outside and they tasted amazing. Instead of hot sauce, I added a Serrano chili and also added some corn. I threw them in the freezer for maybe an hour before grilling also. It helped keep the mixture together ALOT better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebeccah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,044) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States