Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I made the recipe mostly as is, except did not add the bell pepper, as I didn't have any. It was delicious! I made it for some neighbors, and they all had rave reviews . We topped with the burgers with A1 steak sauce, lettuce and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Not sure why this recipe doesn't get more reviews because this recipe is not only easy, but soooooo delicious! I double it because my family always wants two burgers each. We don't eat bread or buns, so what we do is place the black bean burger on top of a bed of mixed greens and top with onions, tomatoes and whatever else we love. I'm not kidding when I say I make this at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Cassey
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was a great burger! It is a little spicy so you might want to omit chili sauce if you're not in the mood for heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This recipe is amazing! There are a couple of things that I have done differently-- I like to add a jalapeño in with the green pepper and onion for a little extra flavor, I only use one teaspoon of cumin instead of a tablespoon, I like to add about 1/2-1 cup of corn in with the black beans, and I use bread crumbs and oatmeal to make the mixture (I use a lot more bread crumbs than the recipe calls for, I just add them until I get a good consistency/texture). I highly recommend that you drain the green pepper/onion mixture as much as possible so that there isn't too much moisture in the burger mix. To cook them I first bake them in the oven (as directed) and then I cook them on medium-high in a skillet for 2-4 minutes on each side to crisp them up. These burgers taste wonderful and are very much worth the effort and time it takes to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
This was great! Mine did fall apart a little but it still taste great. I made a Spicy Cilantro Sauce to go on top and I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Really great. My young kids (4 & 6) love them and so do I. Changes I made: 2 eggs (not 1), 2 tsp cumin (1 just isn't enough, 1 Tblsp may work), 1-3 tsp salt, 1 Tbspn sugar, 1/2 carrot shredded, 1/2 zucchini shredded, 3 shakes Italian seasoning, 3/4 cup oat flour instead of bread crumbs, 6 cloves of garlic, 1/2 cup sweet corn (frozen), Omitted all chili sauce/powder (my kids won't tolerate it yet). It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I didn't have bell peppers, and they were delicious without them! I definitely added more breadcrumbs because they had a hard time staying together the first time I cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I made this gluten free by replacing the bread crumbs with quick oats and I made it vegan by using one Ener-G egg and also adding a couple tablespoons of besan (chickpea flour) and flaxseed meal. I also used a mix of lentils and frozen peas instead of black beans. The burgers came out very good, not mushy, after baking. I don't think the recipe really makes 4 servings. I doubled the recipe and made 5 large burgers and ate 4 of them in one sitting, but I'm a big guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottie Carlock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I tried this twice, and couldn't get the consistency right, so they were just crumbling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissPat
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I made it just as the recipe states and it's fantastic!! Will make these often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,088) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States