Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Super easy! I only made enough for one batch (6 servings) just to try it out. I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil, used white whole wheat pastry flour and put in only 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder since I was using it right away. I also changed the sugar to 3 tsp to offset the bitterness of the whole wheat flour and baking powder. I used another recipe on this site that uses yogurt instead of buttermilk and the combination was perfect. My three year old did most of the mixing and helped drop the biscuits in the pan. He usually likes to help do everything but eat my biscuits but this time he had three! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I just purchased the ingredients for this recipe so I haven't made it yet. I am very excited to find a recipe using oil instead of the hydrogenated shortening most of the recipes call for. I am old enough to remember when they were made with lard. Those were good biscuits. However, lard is hydrogenated now also so I don't use that either. Canola is made of a GMO rapeseed so no matter how good the advertising I cannot think it is as good for us as safflower, corn or coconut oil. I use mostly coconut oil or safflower oil. I also am interested in including the dry buttermilk mix. I am going to go try them right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I need to start out by saying I am not fond of bisquits, I made up these because my husband likes them and we had no biscuit mix. They cook up amazing and fast! And they are delicious! I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I just used regular whole milk and they still came out yummy. You have to kinda babysit them a bit or they get dry and hard kinda fast. But I usually babysit my food when I'm cooking anyway so no big deal. I made mine tiny to be served next to eggs and added a dab of butter and honey. these were perfect! Definitively making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My biscuits didn't rise as high as store bought. I think it needed a bit more baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardenartist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scottvhm
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I used a scaled down portion of this recipe for a caraway beer bread (2.5 cups mix, 2 tbsp sugar, 2 eggs, 1 cup beer) and it worked pretty well. I do wonder if I the baking powder amount could be reduced. (I have another recipe for baking powder biscuits that calls for only 1 tbsp baking powder per 2 cups of flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottvhm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe is just perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I adjusted the recipe to make just what I needed and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Worked great, cannot tell the difference from the store bought mix. I did use olive oil, didn't have any plain vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
The 10 cups of flour has to be wrong! I just made this recipe and no way did it work! I followed it to the tee! Thanks anyway. Not that we couldn't eat it, it was impossible to eat, let alone put it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This recipe is pretty good. I like the fact that it doesn't use shortening. The biscuits are good with butter and jam, and I have used this recipe instead of Bisquick in a few other recipes... pretty good. I did change 2 things... I added more sugar... given the amount of flour, I changed the sugar to 1/4 cup, and added 1/4 cup dry milk. The biscuits turned out a little better when I made the changes. By the way, I used milk to brush on top instead of the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Chipotle Oil

Make beautiful homemade chipotle oil to give as holiday gifts.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States