Homemade Baking Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Made this for a recipe that required baking mix which I didn't have, scaled to 5 servings for the 2 cups I needed. Didn't have milk powder so I used milk in the recipe instead of water. Omitted salt since I am on a low sodium diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great recipe for baking mix. I put everything in a large bowl except for the shortening. I mixed it all up and filled two quart jars with the mixture WITHOUT the shortening. I put 1/3 cup of shortening in the remaining mix, cut it in as directions state, then filled my last quart jar. This way, I can use the jar with the shortening for biscuits and use the others jars without shortening for everything else, as most other things such as pancakes do not require shortening in the mix. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Takes a while to make but it seems to be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeachyKeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
We made pancakes with this mix today and they were great! I usually follow the Bisquick box to make them but since we didn't have the box, we did a little trial and error to come up with our "recipe."To make pancakes, we used 2 c mix, 2 eggs, 1 1/3 c milk, 1/4 c oil. Also, the recipe fit perfectly into 3 quart jars. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This baking mix tastes Better than Bisquick IMO and of course doesn't have the additives. I have used it for basic biscuits, beer and cheese biscuits, pancakes (I don't like Bisquick pancakes but this mix was delicious) and biscuit topping for chicken pot pie. It's perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
For recipes and instructions for using the mix: I like to go to BettyCrocker,com and do a search for 'Bisquick recipes'...there are a TON of great ideas for how to use the mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I thought this tasted just liked the boxed stuff at the store. I used the change servings button and changed it to 4 servings. It made 1 3/4 of a cup of mix, close to what I needed for a recipe. My only change was using butter instead of shortening as it was what I had. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
If you use butter, not only will the texture change, but if you do not keep it refrigerated, it will quickly become rancid. DO NOT USE OIL---it can't be "cut in" so it won't work at all well. This leaves two choices: all vegetable margarine, if you have it in Australia or lard, which is the ingredient that "all vegetable Crisco" (a well-known brand of shortening) originally replaced. Lard isn't particularly good for anyone, but neither is hydrogenated vegetable shortening. Lard should give a superior texture to baked goods, but since it is an animal fat, it might need to be refrigerated like butter--I really don't know because I don't use lard. I just remember my mother telling me it was "old fashioned" Crisco and Mom used lard only to make my grandmother's recipes for authenticity and nostaligia, probably. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Perfect for those recipes that call for baking mix! I only needed a small amount so I adjusted the serving size to 2 so I could make the Johnsonville Sausage Balls (made half that recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made a few changes that some may like. I used self rising flour. There are 6 and 2/3 cups flour in a two pound bag. I used a combination of dry goat milk and cows milk. Goat milk is healthier and richer but expensive. I used 3/4 cup dry milk, 3tblsp sugar, a dash of salt and did not add oil. When I make a recipe it is easy enough to add coconut oil or butter and I prefer either of them to regular cooking oil. I measure that by eye so can't give you an amount. I then add enough water to get the consistency I want. As I am a get it done quick cook I usually make a drop batter rather than one that needs to be rolled and cut. The biscuits are heavenly and the dumplings just add so much to a hearty soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States