Homemade Apple Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
the recipe worked out great! instead of rice flour we used rolled oats and it gave it more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
OK, not a great crust. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MunichMrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
One of the reviewers mentioned having this for breakfast, so this morning I made this for brunch. I served it hot out of the oven with non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt and it was terrific. I only had three small Granny Smith apples, so I halved the recipe. I tossed the apples with cinnamon and two packets of Splenda. I didn't halve the topping recipe and in fact added 1/4 cup rolled oats to wheat flour. I also added 2 tablespoons oat bran, since I didn't have any nuts, and used brown sugar-blend Splenda. I increased the margarine to 2 tablespoons to compensate for the lack of almonds, but used spray (liquid) margarine. I didn't have coconut, so I sprinkled 2 tablespoons of Craisins over the apples before I added the topping. I baked it for 45 minutes with the cover on, 15 minutes with the cover off. I loved this dish and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaynneuter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I haven't had great success with making gluten free desserts from scratch, but thankfully this was an exception! However, I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the sugar and cinnamon with the apples and used browns sugar throughout. For the topping I also doubled it, but it may have been fine 1-1/2 times the recipe. For texture I used a combination of rolled oats and ground flax seed in place of the almond meal. My gluten-free husband was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is delicious, I've made it twice and will definitely make it again. It's been a hit, even with the friends who don't have any dietary restrictions. I watch my sugar intake, so I've left the sugar out of the apple part both times, and no one has seemed to miss it. The key is to pick apples that aren't super-tart. To make it vegan, I substituted vegan Earth Balance buttery sticks instead of butter. I topped it with a little dollop of vanilla bean flavor SO Delicious coconut milk ice cream. Yum! Because it's not loaded with sugar, I find it makes a great breakfast item too. (That is, when it even lasts till the next day! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Amazing. No changes needed. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I took this to work and it disappeared in about ten minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I liked this a lot but my family did not. I thought it was plenty sweet but my family felt it needed more sugar. I will make it again just for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Awesome! Definitely pair it with vanilla ice cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Doubled the topping and loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Marguerite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States