Homemade Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Used six green and six red apples and boiled for 30 minutes and then simmered for several hours. Added some maple syrup and cloves as well. Very good and made the house smell delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
What an easy recipe and delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I used this process to make pear cider instead of apple cider. I substituted pears for apples, used light brown sugar instead of white sugar (simply because I was out of white sugar) and used a blend of whole mulling spices instead of ground cinnamon and allspice. Overall I was very happy with the flavor but not so much the quantity of the cider I ended up with. I'll definitely boil it for a shorter amount of time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Am I missing something. This tasted nothing like cider. I used 20 apples(a mixture) and still pretty tasteless. I will not make this again and now am trying to figure out what I can do with this mess. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
OMG! The house smelled so good when making this cider! The kids commented it smelled like Christmas! I had enough apples from our apple tree to do eight batches of this recipe in my largest stock pot. I did not end up using as much sugar as the recipe calls for...the amount of sugar you would need would greatly depend on the tartness or sweetness of your apples. I ended up using approximately 1/3 c per batch for my apples. I also used a few more spices to add more of an apple pie flavor to the cider. I used cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and cardamom. I hope to can enough of the cider to enjoy throughout the fall and winter. The leftover pulp made a flavorful applesauce and also apple butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Wow! delicious and easy!!! I used Granny smith apples and a mixture of cinnamon and apple pie spice (it was all I had). My mom and I like to drink it while it's still warm! and we are planning on making it and putting it in large mason jars for Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I think those that are saying it's too sweet are draining the water from the apples or are not using enough water. Also, larger apples are required, so if you're using small, you need to decrease the sugar. All in all this is a very basic recipe and is delicious. Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Awesome cider recipe, however, don't discard the remains from the apples! It makes great applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Mason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this today using ten very large apples, cores removed, and following the rest of the proportions. I reduced the heat on the boil - just barely kept it boiling but not boiling too hard - and did the full hour. I really didn't lose that much liquid. My cider wasn't too sweet at all, but we felt it needed a pinch of salt and more spices, so I added those at the end. After straining, I got 2.5 liters of cider, so definitely not a full gallon. I followed the advice of a previous reviewer and used the pulpy apples that were left to make the best darn apple butter I've ever had: added 2/3 cup brown sugar, 2/3 cup white sugar, a tsp of salt, ground cloves, nutmeg and more cinnamon and cooked with a lid for three hours and without a lid for another hour and a half. I used an immersion blender to blend in the apple skins and got four cups yield. YUM all around - happy with the cider and the apple butter, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
yummy. i used suggestions to get it boiling then let it simmer for two hrs. i still didn't get 1 gallon..way less but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States