Homemade Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great angel food cake. I didn't have cake flour so I just used 1 cup of all purpose minus 2 T. I used this for a trifle I was making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was amazing! My daughter requested angel food cake for her birthday. The cake turned out beautiful, even using "homemade" cake flour instead of purchasing a box. Soft, flavorful, just perfect. I've learned overtime if you don't beat the whites enough, then beat instead of fold the flour into the whites, you will have a failure on your hands. Have to be patient with this angel! Keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sibley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I made this cake last night for a dinner party. One of our guests is lactose intolerant and soy intolerant, so coming up with a dessert was a challenge. I followed the recipe as written except I did add a tablespoon of almond extract and, as others suggested, I did add the flour mixture slowly, folding it in each time to make sure it was smooth. I made a chocolate sauce to go on top consisting of 8 oz of melted dark chocolate from Trader Joe's (that didn't have any dairy or soy products) to which I stirred in 1 cup of hot (but not boiling) canned coconut milk. I topped the cake with fresh strawberries, blackberries and blueberries, drizzled it with the chocolate sauce, then finished with some toasted slivered almonds. It got rave reviews from all of our guests. I'd make this cake again in a heartbeat. It's so versatile, you can do so many things with it. Thank you to the reviewer who suggested finding the proper sized bottle to invert the pan onto BEFORE you put the batter in the tube pan. I had a tough time finding a bottle that worked - but ended up with a small bottle of Tabasco sauce that fit. This was my first attempt at angel food cake and it turned out just perfect. However, the recipe should include the "invert the pan during cooling" instructions. Otherwise, it's a lot of work to end up with a flat and dense cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
All we could taste were eggs and flour. Most recipes call for much fewer eggs and usually say about 1.5 cups of whites. This made well over 2 cups of egg whites and I think it was just entirely too much. Additionally, it fell, and I have never had an angel food cake fall before, homemade or otherwise. I was really disappointed after reading all of the rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Love this recipe! I raise my own chickens and have now found a delicious way to use up alllll those extra eggs that I don't sell. I added extra vanilla, too. next time will add some almost too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Marjorie, you can freeze egg yolks for up to 9 months. Just gently stir and add a little salt for savory dishes and sugar for desserts. This is to inhibit yolks from getting lumpy. Freeze in ice cube trays and thaw in the refrigerator preferably the day before intended use. Creme brulee uses yolks only and so do some custards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
With the price of eggs and sugar it is better to just buy a boxed cake and with betty crocker you cant tell the differance in taste and it bakes up perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This cake is as close as I've come to duplicating my late Grandmothers'recipe. Only problem....the second time I made it, it stuck to the UNGREASED pan and did not rise as much as first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This cake is huge!! I usually use the recipe in the BHG cookbook, but I didn't have enough confectioners sugar...so I found this one. It is very similar, maybe a little more moist and fluffy. And it is significantly bigger (uses 18 eggs instead of the 12-13 I am used to). I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Rose so high! Really came out well and was so delicious. Made custard and pumpkin spice bran muffins with the yolks, so was a fun day of baking :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States