Homemade Albondigas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Was amazingly delicious,my family and i enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte alves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was delicious. After reading the reviews I decided to add 1/4 cup uncooked jasmine rice to the meatballs. I also added 1 jalapeno to the soup. I think I cut the potatoes too small because they pretty much fell apart when I stirred the soup to serve it(I cut the potato in half lengthwise, then half again lenghtwise and then in 3 cubes...they were pretty big but I guess not big enough). I would cut the potatoes larger next time and maybe boil the meatballs in a little bit of water before adding to the soup (some of them fell apart as well). The soup was delicious though! Great left over as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
While I am of Greek and Italian Extraction I would be remiss if I did not say that the Mexican's nailed it on this one. There's room for so many variations and each time I cook or just eat it...well...its amazing how much I really really really enjoy this culinary delight. I Cr 13:8a, Love never fails ! (NKJV)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnycee
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe is excellent, however I do cheat in order to easily make it after a long work day as a healthy family meal. I buy premade, low fat angus steak meatballs that are kept in the freezer. I use a little olive oil to fry up a couple of onions, add the carrots and then the celery. Then I add the no salt added broth, the potatoes, frozen meatballs and bring to boil and simmer. Add pepper to taste. Finally I add either frozen spinach and cook for a few more minutes or fresh spinach 5 minutes to serving. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Easy and delicious! Dumped half a jar of pace and some extra bullion during simmering and mexican rice to add to the finished product. This is my new rainy day go to, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Perfect! Added cumin, raw rice, red pepper flakes, bay leaf and chopped tomatoes. So delicious! Also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
My coworkers Loved my albondigas soup..I made a few changes to make it my own by adding a little cumin, tomato paste for color and a small jalapeño for just a little heat. OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Not bad! While I prefer belen's albondigas (also on this site), this was good too. The idea of adding cilantro to the MB mixture AND in the soup is genius. I really enjoy the flavor of cilantro, so the more the better lol! What I didn't care for was the texture of the meatball itself. It was dense and surprisingly dry! I think I would skip the browning step altogether next time and just let my MB's simmer until done (I think this contributed to their dry texture). In addition to my suggested change, I made a few other minor adjustments. I only had two 32 oz. cartons of chicken broth handy, so I added both of them (FYI, four cans of broth is just shy of two carton's worth). I also added 1/4 t cumin to my MB mixture and two chopped Roma tomatoes to my soup during the last half hour of cooking. My final change was to saute my carrots, celery and onion together rather than add the latter two directly to my broth. As Melissa suggested, I served my soup with prepared Mexican rice and LOVED it! Cornbread paired perfectly with this. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Melissa. This was one comforting bowl of soup! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was a very good soup! I changed the meatballs a tad--used all ground pork, added 1/4 c. of pearl rice that I had on hand, and 1/4 tsp. of cumin. My only complaint is that it was gone too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States