Homemade Albondigas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Having lived in Phx. for over 20 yrs., I've had a lot of good Mexican food. This soup rates right up there with the best! I halved the recipe for the 2 of us. That won't happen again!! Love leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is one of the ultimate Mexican comfort foods and you don't have to be Mexican to enjoy it! It is food fit for royalty and the common man alike. It ranks right up there with your Mama's chicken soup. It will cure anything, even baldness. Eat it hot, add hot sauce or hot chilies or menudo mix or chilipiñas to spice it up if that's your style, with warm corn tortillas on the side, and you will find yourself in heaven! My dear mother-in-law made this for me whenever we visited, and she will forever hold a special place in my heart. My wife made a special point of learning how to make this (and other great recipes, and it has contributed greatly to a happy and lasting marriage. It is true that a woman's way to winning a man is through his stomach ... and it is a man's way of gaining a woman's love is to appreciate her cooking and her efforts to please him. Which is to say that it is a two-way street. Try this recipe, you'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
this was great! everyone raved about how delicious it was. i added some bread crumbs to the meatballs because thats how my mom makes them. Ill be making this one again for sure on a rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My Mexican husband was so pleased with me when he tasted this!!! It was so good! I made Mexican rice on the side and scooped it into the bowl when I served it!!! YUM YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Yanez-Solis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Haven't tasted the soup yet (just put it on for final simmer, with the last cilantro and the meatballs), but it smells wonderful and promises to sustain me through my lunches at the office next week. Some minor changes/suggestions: 1) I added an egg to the meatball mix (I doubled the recipe, by the way). Just thought that would help keep them intact. 2) I would suggest that you err on the side of cooking the meatballs (my doubling the recipe made 32, by the way) in the skillet before putting them into the broth. Mine seemed to have a bit of a problem hanging together at first. 3) Try to use the leanest ground beef you can find. In my pre-blizzard foray to the Safeway, all I could find was some fairly high-fat stuff.... Thanks, Melissa! Good soup for a SNOWY day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Awesome, awesome, awesome! Everything about this recipe is awesome. I followed it exactly as is, and it turned out so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was a good soup. Very simple to make, nice outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oldsmar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Really Good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
this was excellant! I don't like to cook, but this was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this soup during the winter and loved it! It was the first time i made this soup on my own and it came out so good! I had lots of leftovers though cuz i mad it for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smhernandez18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States