Homemade Albondigas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was good comfort food. My husband raved over this and asked that I serve it a lot more often. I used dried cilantro 1T in the meatballs and 2T in the broth, and dried minced onion. This was a bit bland though and was a lot better with the rice so take the time to fix it as it makes the dish so much better. Thanks this was a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Pretty good soup...I added some fresh bread crumbs to the meatballs, although they still almost fell apart. I left out the celery but otherwise followed the recipe. As others suggested, I made Mexican rice as a side dish (which I added to my own bowl of soup and liked the soup a little better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My Mexican husband was so pleased with me when he tasted this!!! It was so good! I made Mexican rice on the side and scooped it into the bowl when I served it!!! YUM YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Yanez-Solis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Really Good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was a good soup. Very simple to make, nice outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oldsmar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
this was great! everyone raved about how delicious it was. i added some bread crumbs to the meatballs because thats how my mom makes them. Ill be making this one again for sure on a rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Having lived in Phx. for over 20 yrs., I've had a lot of good Mexican food. This soup rates right up there with the best! I halved the recipe for the 2 of us. That won't happen again!! Love leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is one of the ultimate Mexican comfort foods and you don't have to be Mexican to enjoy it! It is food fit for royalty and the common man alike. It ranks right up there with your Mama's chicken soup. It will cure anything, even baldness. Eat it hot, add hot sauce or hot chilies or menudo mix or chilipiñas to spice it up if that's your style, with warm corn tortillas on the side, and you will find yourself in heaven! My dear mother-in-law made this for me whenever we visited, and she will forever hold a special place in my heart. My wife made a special point of learning how to make this (and other great recipes, and it has contributed greatly to a happy and lasting marriage. It is true that a woman's way to winning a man is through his stomach ... and it is a man's way of gaining a woman's love is to appreciate her cooking and her efforts to please him. Which is to say that it is a two-way street. Try this recipe, you'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-88 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States