Homemade Albondigas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Do like the picture shows and put some sopa in the soup--the only way to eat it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is a good basic reciipe that anyone can make. My original recipe was half ground pork and half ground beef. I use ground turkey. To keep it together and omit the browning of the meatballs first, I add an egg, and about 1/4 cup of uncooked white rice and yes, you can add bread crumbs too. Some people don't like cilantro so you can use chopped mint leaves to the meatball mixture. Just drop the formed meatballs into a simmering pot of broth and add desired vegetables cut in chunks as stated. I also sometimes add a bay leaf to the broth. This is suppose to be a clear broth vegetable meatball soup so do not thicken with roux or add thick tomato sauce. Tlhis is an excellent substitution for chicken soup as a restorative and declicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My mom used to make a version of this meatball soup, and it was delicious. My father would make meatballs the size of the top of his thumb (about 3/4 - 1" diameter), then she would boil them in a little salted water, just enough to cover. She saved the water to add to the soup (more flavor). The meatballs never fell apart and were just the right size for your mouth. We got about 40 - 50 meatballs out of a pound of ground beef. (She also used a dash of worchestershire sauce to taste) and mixed beef and chicken broth together, then added a cup or so of dried vegetable soup mix, along with approx 1 c. diced fresh carrots (1/4" cubes), 1 diced celery stalk, bay leaf to taste, and rice. Served with fresh crusty rolls - we were in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppyluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Have not tried it but my mom would add chopped mint into the meatball mixture along with some uncooked rice then added the celery, potatoes, carrots and onions..can of tomato sauce and that was it. no chicken broth or stock. Gave it a 3 star just because it sounds delish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I make this soup for my grandaughter. This is my addition When i was a kid 55+ years ago, my aunt made this soup with this major change which i do also each tiime I make it . I add uncooked white rice into the meat mixture (it will cook while the meat balls are boiling in the broth) oh by the way, add cumin it gives it a more of a Mexican taste. I to top it with fried corn tortilla ribbons,and jack cheese enjoy Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
this was very easy to do and they came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good! I made this with ground turkey and pre cooked the potatoes because I ran out of time. It was sooo good I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
To make it more "authentic" tasting, I added additional spices, a bay leaf and...for my own tastebuds...red pepper flakes. Overall, it's a good basic meatball soup if you want to try it out and you're lacking the extra ingredients you rarely buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Delicious!!! Mikey and I both loved this. Had to spice it up with red pepper flakes and then perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Really good. I had to add an egg & a little bit of bread crumbs to make the meat stick together. I also thought that 4 cloves of garlic was a bit much for only 1 pound of ground beef so I only put 2 cloves. I also added a package of onion soup mix to the broth for more flavor. I cooked it in my crock pot. It came out really good. Next time I want to add zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States