Homemade Albondigas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I used Cilantro from a tube instead of fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Definitely 5 stars, served with artisan corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Shriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I've never heard of albondigas soup, but it sounded good and it was! Very easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cowboy Mark
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I always wanted to learn to make this one. Now I can! I changed it around some by first doubling the ingredients. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes to the meat and add the same to the broth. Then, I added 1/4 cup of oatmeal flakes to the meat as to increase the number of meatballs. I also added an entire 14 oz can of drained garbanzo beans to the broth for a Menudo effect. I seasoned the broth with 2 bay leaves, 1/4 teaspoon of cumin and 1/2 teaspoon of Mexican oregano. I served it once with a scoop of rice in the bowl (which was great) and served it later with a topping of avocados, lime twists, sour cream and Monterey Jack cheese. It is great with all of these toppings. One of the best soups/stews that I have ever had. Homemade soup beats canned soup every time! This is a highly nutritious dish, looks and tastes great. My first batch yielded 1 gallon and it lasted 3 days. This is a wonderful recipe that I am surprised is not making the rounds in the Mexican restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is delicious. The only difference between my grandmothers and this one is that she would also add some raw white rice to the meatballs, it seems to make them more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Excellent soup with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turbodonkey
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Great! I added spinach instead of cilantro and used Italian bread crumbs and an egg in the meatballs. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This soup is delicious. I made it with the addition of a pinch of cumin, and some crushed red pepper to the meatballs. I also served with some fried strips of corn tortilla and shredded Monterrey Jack cheese. My kids also liked a dollop of sour cream on their serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Delicious! Followed the recipe but added breadcrumbs and Worcester sauce as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious! The only change I made was to use Knorr beef homestyle stock instead of chicken stock & it added a great flavor. I served it with a dark wheat bread and everyone loved it! I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States