Homemade Albondigas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Husband loved it and thought he was in Mexico when he shut his eyes. Read review and made a few changes: added 1/4 dry rice to meat balls, 1/4 jalepeno pepper to soup, curry, worchestershire sauce (dollop), fresh lime and corn chips to top. Very tasty. Only 2 cloves garlic, 1 bay leaf and a bit of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is a darn good basic sopa de albondigas. We will probably use 50/50 ground beef/chorizo mix with bread crumbs and egg for the meatballs. Its a family thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was just OK for me. The meatballs were not as flavorful as I expected. The soup had a nice flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Made this with Beef Broth, tomato sauce and cumin, AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Super Yummy & easy to make. I added 1 can of El Pato (hot tomato sauce) because I love spicy food! Everyone liked it - even the picky 10 year old. Perfect on a winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Fish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Tasty, comfort-food soup that gets kudos for having easy ingredients you likely already have on hand. Try not to overcook the meatballs as I did. They do not soften up in liquid like chicken does...definitely undercook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is a delicious gluten-free meal. I used sweet potatoes instead because my husband is on a restrictive diet this month and he can't have them. I have been printing the recipe for my gluten-free friends to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
An easy to prepare and cook soup. I substituted ground beef for turkey which was excellent. Also substituted the potatoes for parsnips which reduced calories if that is of concern. There is nothing like the smell of cilantro in a broth. As the previous review indicates go ahead and make the whole recepe - you will enjoy the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This soup was delicious! Had my place smelling soo good! Thought it would be perfect for a cold, rainy day. I hadn't had Albondigas in a really long time! It sure did hit the spot! Kiddos got seconds! Definitely keeping this recipe as a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is a very good soup. You do have to add additional seasoning our it's kind of bland. To make it alittle more healthy I used ground turkey. I also used reduced sodium chicken broth and only half of the recipe I used water for the rest of the liquid. Additional seasoning - sage/poultry seasoning/sea salt/basil. The kicker for this soup is to add the cilantro and chop red onion to the bowl. My husband loved it and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States