Homemade Albondigas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was a very good soup! I changed the meatballs a tad--used all ground pork, added 1/4 c. of pearl rice that I had on hand, and 1/4 tsp. of cumin. My only complaint is that it was gone too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe. I've made this version and I've also made it with rice instead of potatoes and added cabbage. So good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was delicious! It takes me back to my childhood and reminds me of the soup my grandmother makes. The only thing I changed based off the tips from other viewers is I used 1/3 cup of italian bread crumbs and 1/3 cup milk in the meatballs. I also add 1 egg white to help the meat stay together. You can use a whole egg but you really don't need to. I also added 1/2 cup of salsa into the soup in the last 30 minutes of cooking. I should mention that I doubled the recipe so you can cut these measuremeants in half if follwing exactly. I wouldn't do anything different next time. I think this added just the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I needed to go grocery shopping, but it was so cold out so I did an ingredients search and found this. THANK THE LORD. It is sooo good! I didn't have celery so I just threw in frozen carrots and corn. Then I made some homemade baked corn tortilla chips and put them in. So good. Please make this immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was so good I did add a few more ingredients such as a little chili powder some cumin and a pinch of read pepper flakes oh and a dash of Worcester sauce.... came out with a lil spice but its ok that is how my family likes it... Never made it with potato and my kids loved that add on... so all around its a really good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by triciacottrell09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
So yummy! Served with sliced avocado, squeeze of lime and cilantro. I love the idea of adding cilantro and onion to the meatballs - at first I thought it would be too overpowering, but it wasn't - I also added a little milk to make them more moist. Also, recommend adding potatoes at the end so they dont get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
All I can say is yummy! This was so goooood. I did my broth with the cubes. My whole family loved this, my son is a picky eater and he ate all his dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
LOVED the use of cilantro IN the meatball which I don't believe I've ever done. This is a great hearty homey soup! The only change I made was to saute the carrots and celery with the onion. Also added some chopped tomatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe because it gives you a simple albondigas base recipe to build on. I had a lot of veggies needing to be used and ones that I wanted to add (Italian squash, red and green bell pepper,burdock root,and celery). I also changed up the meatballs by adding only fresh garlic,shallots,cilantro,and parsley, finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States