Homemade Albondigas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Perfect! Added cumin, raw rice, red pepper flakes, bay leaf and chopped tomatoes. So delicious! Also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
My coworkers Loved my albondigas soup..I made a few changes to make it my own by adding a little cumin, tomato paste for color and a small jalapeño for just a little heat. OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Not bad! While I prefer belen's albondigas (also on this site), this was good too. The idea of adding cilantro to the MB mixture AND in the soup is genius. I really enjoy the flavor of cilantro, so the more the better lol! What I didn't care for was the texture of the meatball itself. It was dense and surprisingly dry! I think I would skip the browning step altogether next time and just let my MB's simmer until done (I think this contributed to their dry texture). In addition to my suggested change, I made a few other minor adjustments. I only had two 32 oz. cartons of chicken broth handy, so I added both of them (FYI, four cans of broth is just shy of two carton's worth). I also added 1/4 t cumin to my MB mixture and two chopped Roma tomatoes to my soup during the last half hour of cooking. My final change was to saute my carrots, celery and onion together rather than add the latter two directly to my broth. As Melissa suggested, I served my soup with prepared Mexican rice and LOVED it! Cornbread paired perfectly with this. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Melissa. This was one comforting bowl of soup! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was a very good soup! I changed the meatballs a tad--used all ground pork, added 1/4 c. of pearl rice that I had on hand, and 1/4 tsp. of cumin. My only complaint is that it was gone too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe. I've made this version and I've also made it with rice instead of potatoes and added cabbage. So good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was delicious! It takes me back to my childhood and reminds me of the soup my grandmother makes. The only thing I changed based off the tips from other viewers is I used 1/3 cup of italian bread crumbs and 1/3 cup milk in the meatballs. I also add 1 egg white to help the meat stay together. You can use a whole egg but you really don't need to. I also added 1/2 cup of salsa into the soup in the last 30 minutes of cooking. I should mention that I doubled the recipe so you can cut these measuremeants in half if follwing exactly. I wouldn't do anything different next time. I think this added just the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I needed to go grocery shopping, but it was so cold out so I did an ingredients search and found this. THANK THE LORD. It is sooo good! I didn't have celery so I just threw in frozen carrots and corn. Then I made some homemade baked corn tortilla chips and put them in. So good. Please make this immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was so good I did add a few more ingredients such as a little chili powder some cumin and a pinch of read pepper flakes oh and a dash of Worcester sauce.... came out with a lil spice but its ok that is how my family likes it... Never made it with potato and my kids loved that add on... so all around its a really good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by triciacottrell09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
So yummy! Served with sliced avocado, squeeze of lime and cilantro. I love the idea of adding cilantro and onion to the meatballs - at first I thought it would be too overpowering, but it wasn't - I also added a little milk to make them more moist. Also, recommend adding potatoes at the end so they dont get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States