Homefried Potatoes with Garlic and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
oh wow! I rough chopped 5 medium-sized russet potatoes. I boiled them for 15 minutes exactly and then threw them into the pan I'd already cooked off the bacon in. They were mushy!!! Operator error :)I cooked the potatoes for another 15 minutes throwing in the onions for the last ten. These were delicious! The flavor is OUTSTANDING!!! Next time (and there will be a next time and it might even be tomorrow night!!!) I will boil for only 10 minutes and keep the frying time to 15 minutes. I only fried up 5 slices of bacon and I ended up adding a generous pour of canola oil and it was just the right amount of oil. I didn't get any crispiness but hey! THE TASTE!!! Last thing, I generously salted the water when I boiled the potatoes. I will always do that from now on. when I tested the potatoes for doneness I ended up just eating that one little hunk and it was great! LOVE LOVE LOVE these potatoes and my meat-and-potatoes-brother-in-law CHOWED LIKE THERE WAS NO TOMORROW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is a good recipe! I did microwave my potatoes first as I always do when im frying potatoes. Very yummy potatoes were nice an Crispy and the bacon well just topped it off!! My daughter absolutely Loved these not the most healthiest choice but sure is Delicious! Thank you for Sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I only made one change to the recipe and that was add a couple minced fresh cloves of garlic. OHMYGAWSH, these were so amazingly good. No, really. I wish I'd doubled them because we all wanted more but we ate every bit that I made. Next time, I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
We always make this in our cast iron skillet when camping. Smells so good the other campers want to know what is for breakfast. :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We like this recipe. Its very similar to something I make for breakfast all the time. I microwave the potatoes before frying them, so everything cooks sooner and nothing burns .I added green pepper because we love them and served this with barbequed boneless country style rib ends. The next day for breakfast I threw it all in a skillet and cut up what was left of the rib ends and threw them in. It was pretty good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
WOW...these are great. My husband was certain that anything cooked in bacon drippings wouldn't disappoint....and he was right! They didn't taste oily or horribly bad for you, just melted in your mouth. To help with calories, I cut the bacon suggestion in half as well as the garlic seasoning. It was just too much garlic! Overall these potatoes were a hit and everyone wanted more when they were gone. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexlangley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are amazingly good and similar to potatoes I already cook. I add grated Cheddar cheese and chopped chives to make these even better. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was a big breakfast hit in our house! I used thick sliced bacon, and fresh grated garlic and added seasoned salt and fresh cracked pepper, will I definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Simple, delicious and big hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good, I didnt have an Onion so I just fried potatoes up in the bacon drippings and omg it was a good breakfast :) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States