Home-Style Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I LOVE this soup! I've never made homemade vegetable soup so looked through several recipes. After reading all the good reviews tried it myself. The key is the tomato juice! It really makes this awesome. I used the spicy low sodium V8 variety and had two big bowls. O M Gosh I'm stuffed and have enough leftover for several lunches this week. Woooohoooo!! On a side note I cheated. I bought the vegetable soup frozen mix that has potatoes, carrots, celery, onions, green beans, tomatoes and okra. Added an extra can of diced tomatoes. I don't ever add salt but added a touch of garlic powder and some cayenne. It's a personal choice. This I will make again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
i am giving this 4 stars simply because it is a great base recipe. and this novice cook had a fun time jazzing it up a little! I seasoned the ground beef, onion and potatoes with salt, pepper and a few dashes of garlic powder. when I make this again, I will brown the ground beef before adding the potatoes to achieve better browning and avoid over-crowding the pan. to the soup I added I can of garlic diced tomatoes (as suggested by other reviewers), 4 beef bullion cubes, ¼ tsp of cayenne pepper, 3/8 tsp of thyme and 2 bay leaves. and again, this is a great base recipe to learn to use spices and herbs to your tastes. I served this with a semi-homemade cornbread and it was delicious!! thank you, STKA for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by E2
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
this recipe is perfect!!! i used stew beef instead b/c it's what i had but kept all ingredients per recipe. it is delicious, esp if you prefer to not use the frozen mixed veggies which most other recipes call for. i cooked my onions and beef down first then put all ingred in crock pot on high for 6 hours. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Easy, healthy, economical, and tastes good. What more can you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
felt missing something, but over all, pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Really good. Very easy to make and I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
It was easy and good. I didn't like the ground beef in it as I felt it was bland, no flavor. Next time I may use stew beef or add spices to the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I used a dicer to make it easier and more uniform chunks, my family loved it.. Even the hard to please one had 3 bowls two days in a row! I did a low carb version and added diced tomato, no potato and substituted jicama for the potato and added shredded cheese On top.. Both were amazing although I wouldn't mind trying zucchini and bell pepper too. Oh I also used No sodium canned items, low sodium vegetable juice and added my own sea salt and mrs dash to make it low sodium and heart healthy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was my first soup that wasn't from a can. I had to modify some things because I made it for the cafe I work for. We will see what the customers think tomorrow :) I added some herbs and lots of dried peppers and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I liked this, but it could be improved on. I made it pretty much as written, using 85% lean ground beef, a yellow onion, and a slightly larger can of corn (15.25 ounces). I found that in my case, the cooking times needed to be longer, for cooking "until beef is no longer pink and potatoes are tender". This makes a lot of soup, and it's probably pretty healthy with all the vegetables and vegetable juice, but I thought it was maybe too chunky, and perhaps additional spices or herbs could jazz it up. Still worth making, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States