Home-Style Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was a great, easy weeknight soup. I altered slightly. I browned the beef, then drained in a colander. While the beef was draining, I sauteed the onion and sliced carrots, then added 2 cloves of garlic. I then added all ingredients, adding one teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce, and omitting the potatoes. I cooked small pasta on the side to mix in the soup when ready. Next time, I'll try the spicy V-8. Everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this for my wife and she loved it. I used a lot of the canned vegetables from the back of the shelf but the soup turned out well (a solid '4' rating). I gave the soup a 5 since I didn't use fresh vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Three Sons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent and easy. I shredded a zucchini which melted into the soup so my family wouldn't see it. I also chopped a large bunch of spinach and two handfuls of chopped parsley. Healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good stew! I added some lime and tobassco for my own additional liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Hubby liked it and the kids thought it was alright. It fed a family of five with pleanty left over. I froze the rest, i'm not sure how it will taste once thawed. I recommend using the spicy V8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanbeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Here are the few changes I made: I used regular brown potatoes instead of red, frozen corn instead of canned and I sauteed the carrots with the potatoes and beef instead of microwaving them seperately. It turned out delicious. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very good, made in crock pot, let it cook on low for 8 hours, very easy. Average flavor, could add additional spice to make this a stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis in Colorado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I have to say that I always get a kick out of people who rave what a good recipe something is and then proceed to list the 19 changes they made to it. That said, vegetable soup is one of those things that just seems to lend itself to improvisation by even the most inexperienced cook (which I'm not by a long shot), so all you really need is the different idea. This ones different idea is the ground beef, instead of the chuck roast I usually use and the tomato juice cocktail. And that worked out to be a really, really good idea. I used the hot and spicy V-8 like someone else did which added just the right amount of kick for me. I also used home canned green beans and way more corn, since I love corn in my veggie soup. And I added a can of chopped tomato. But I did follow this recipe closer than I usually do for soup. Oh and I did just brown the meat, fry the onions and then throw everything else in the pot to cook. Actually I brought it to a boil and then put it covered in the over at 350 for a few hours. Turned out great. I'll definately keep this idea in mind when I make soup again. I ended up with way more than the recipe, but then soup always does get away from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyekkaMarengo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I am making this for the 2nd time tonight. It was really good. I have to admit I did make some changes, I don't like to do that the first time I try something, but I know my family and what will work. I cut the tomato juice with some beef broth and added some ground pork. We enjoyed it and obviously will make it again!! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised that this soups turned out so delicious. It was so easy. I sauteed the beef and some chopped onion first, and then added frozen mixed vegetables in place of the carrots and canned corn. I added the potato when I added the vegetables. I also covered the soup as it simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kesslkat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States