Home-Style Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Incredibly easy and delicious soup. The nice thing about it is that you can add any veggie that pleases your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I have made this soup two times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly as written and found it lacking the flavor that I had expected, thus the four stars. So, the second time, I followed some of the suggestions of the other cooks who have made adaptions, and did the following: I used the zesty V-8, added 1 can of beef broth, 1 drained and rinsed can kidney beans instead of the green beans, and 1 cup of red wine. To achieve the flavor I was hoping for, I seasoned the onions and grated carrots with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I added the beef and used the same seasonings on it (I used ground round), then put three large cloves through a garlic press and added that into the mix. I used sweet canned corn and threw in part of a rind of parmesean cheese. I let the mixture simmer for an hour or so and adjusted the salt and the soup was a BIG hit with my family. They gave the new and improved version 5 stars. As one cook stated in her review, this soup is a good base soup and the sky is the limit for additions that can only improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Parris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Just like my Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
My mother used to make this soup, especially for my brother who didn't like vegetables. She didn't add potatoes. After the recipe was completed cooking she blended the finished product. It was delicious! The entire family loved it and everyone got their vegetables. She served it with fresh loaf bread from the Polish bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is a great base recipe, so just enhance it with, basil, thyme, marjoram and a bay leaf or two. I just add and taste until I like the results. A dash of ginger or cinnamon can be good also, but be careful not to get to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I make a simular recipe using Clamato extra spicy and shredded cabbage. I make it in my slow cooker. There is never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Don't change a thing. Great soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Loved it! Even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was wonderful! I love the idea of using v8 juice in soup...never even crossed my mind. VERY good. The only thing I changed was added some extra chili powder, pepper and garlic powder for some seasoning. Will be saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Absolutely one of the best soups I've ever tasted. My husband and I loved it and ate the leftovers every day until it was gone! Soooo easy - didn't change a thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States