Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
i didn't use salt or pepper i did use a beef boulion cube i was making this with pot roast...very creamy and very good an perfect basic ...great as is or you can add cheese to it like i did or bacon or whatever you want i will put this in my favorites...very easy and yummy...also to save time i microwaved the potatoes for a bit so my cook time was only 1/2 hour...i can't wait to let it cook for a hole hour it would probably be better if i didn't use the microwave but i had to go to work...stil yummy try this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I really liked this recipe! I thought at first it was a little runny when I took it out of the oven, but after letting it sit for 5 minutes or so, it thickened up and was so yummy! My kids even liked it, and they are super picky! Maybe next time I might add a little cheese to the top for an extra treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Loved this recipe! It was simple and delicious. I added a few slices of american cheese to the creamy mixture for a mild cheesy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These were the best scalloped potatoes I've ever eaten. Yummy. I made half the recipe and used a 8x8 dish. Making the white sauce first prevented the lumps you sometimes get with the flour sprinkled over the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I've made this recipe several times, and each time it was extremely good. One of my grown sons has requested I make this for Thanksgiving dinner instead of the usual mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omak, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made the recipe as stated and it turned out quite delicious. I've never made scalloped potatoes before and I will be using this as my staple recipe from now on! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Great recipe...my mom always used to make this. Another great way to add on to this recipe is to add chopped ham to each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seychelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Very easy, tastes like it took a lot more work. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Excellent recipe! I also added left over cubed ham. It was a big hit with our 1 1/2 year old boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Really yummy! I did make a couple of changes though; I scaled it back to 4, added a tsp of garlic powder and grated aged cheddar in the layers. I found the potatoes a bit crunchy after 60 minutes still so I put them in the microwave on full for 10 minutes and they were perfect (I have an older microwave so you might not want to try it for that long). These are my new favourite potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States