Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I loved this recipe as a terrific base to start out with. I really didn't alter it all that much; I only added a couple of things... I grated 3 cloves of garlic into the sauce while it cooked and I also added a couple teaspoons of chicken bouillon granules to the mix instead of adding salt. I topped it with some freshly grated parmesan about 15 minutes before it came out of the oven for extra flavor. It was OH, SOOOO DELICIOUS!!! I left it in the oven for close to 2 hours though until the potatoes were tender... in my opinion, nothing is worse than al dente scalloped potatoes! So just be sure to leave yourself an extra window of time to add to the 60 or 70 minutes that this recipe calls for. And DO NOT cover the pan with foil; there is NO NEED for it. Overall, I was very pleased with the end result; the potatoes were creamy, without having to rely on the creamed soups loaded with the heavy sodium other recipes require. This will be in my "go to" recipe file from here on. Absolutely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These were the best scalloped potatoes I've ever eaten. Yummy. I made half the recipe and used a 8x8 dish. Making the white sauce first prevented the lumps you sometimes get with the flour sprinkled over the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I really liked this recipe! I thought at first it was a little runny when I took it out of the oven, but after letting it sit for 5 minutes or so, it thickened up and was so yummy! My kids even liked it, and they are super picky! Maybe next time I might add a little cheese to the top for an extra treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Just sprinkle some parsley on top and this dish is truly great. To speed up the cooking time, just parboil the sliced potatoes for a few minutes, drain them, and layer them in the pan with the white sauce or cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lund, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Excellent! Finally, scalloped potatoes with flavour (although i did add a good dose of seasoning salt and cheese) Otherwise cooked as per recipe. They took forever to cook though (90 mins +)and i had cut my slices close to paper-thin too. That's the only reason for the 4 stars. Really delicious, and i will use from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
These potatoes were very yummy! I added shredded cheddar for the last 15 minutes of baking and they turned out perfect. They would have been good without the cheese but I just always have to add something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
A lot of people added cheese, but doing so no longer makes these scalloped potatoes and is an au grautin dish. For those who find this bland, this recipe calls for milk when it should be cream. I always use a little cream just to give it that extra edge because of the calories. Also a spring of thyme or 2 can really add some great flavor Tip On The Roux For The Sauce: There were a few people who had the sauce turn out runny. It's all in the roux. It's important with any sauce like this you cook the flour and butter for about 5 minutes. Add the milk slowly because sometimes you don't need as much as the recipe calls for. (You can't take it back out.) You'll get a thick mixture and then it thins as you add milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were great- what I had of them, anyway. I took them to a potluck and they were almost totally cleaned out before I had a chance to taste any. I did get a few scraps. I used 8 cups of red potatoes and put this into a 9x13 pan. I added some shredded cheddar cheese between potato layers, and added some cheese on top the last 5 minutes of baking. I baked about 20 minutes extra just to make sure they were tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I tried this recipe for Christmas and it turned out extremely runny. I changed the servings to 10 and followed the recipe to a T. Did not work. After baking it, let it rest thinking it would thicken...still no....runny. Then I tasted it...no flavor and runny. YUCK! Dumped it all and made garlic mashed potatoes instead. Thank goodness had potatoes on hand. Maybe it could of been changing the servings of the recipe which did not work and made it runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
i didn't use salt or pepper i did use a beef boulion cube i was making this with pot roast...very creamy and very good an perfect basic ...great as is or you can add cheese to it like i did or bacon or whatever you want i will put this in my favorites...very easy and yummy...also to save time i microwaved the potatoes for a bit so my cook time was only 1/2 hour...i can't wait to let it cook for a hole hour it would probably be better if i didn't use the microwave but i had to go to work...stil yummy try this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States