Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
great basic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SabeandMaddysMom
Home Town: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was a very tasty recipe, didn't need to alter it at all HOWEVER..holy it took forever to cook like the others said...over 2hours at 350 degrees and it still could have cooked even more..I will make this again but cook or boil the potatoes maybe a bit before. Definitely will make it again though - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I made these scalloped potatoes as a side dish to ham and asparagus for our Christmas dinner. They were absolutely delicious and even though there were only 5 of us eating, there were barely any leftovers! I only made two minor changes--I used 4 tbsp of butter and used about 2/3 cup of onion. I honestly have to say that I have a feeling making the recipe exactly as is would have made them perfect, but i just wanted to add a bit more onion to the flavor. I DEFINITELY plan on making these again (their next appearance might be Easter). Kudos to the person that shared this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I gave this only 4 stars because I think this is a good jumping-off recipe. To suit our tastes, I halved the recipe and made the following adjustments - for cream sauce I sauted 3/4 of good sized onion in LOTS of butter before adding flour; used equal portions milk and 1/2 and 1/2; and added garlic powder and onion powder; cooked until thickened. I made one layer potatoes and dusted with garlic and onion powder, followed with good amount frozen peas and leftover baked ham, covering all with half of cream sauce. Topped off with second layer of potatoes and remaining 1/4 onion (sliced)and the rest of the cream sauce. Baked in 8x8 pan at 350 degrees for 60 minutes. Reminded me of what my Mother used make when I was a kid. Yummy. I would give MY version 5 stars!! HA! D-LISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was delicious! I added some havarti cheese to the top right at the end of baking but other than that, I didn't change a thing. My 18 month old kiddo really liked it too. Perfect with our Christmas ham. We'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxiemaxey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These were AMAZING!!!!! The only changes I made were to add a little garlic salt and I cooked it at 375 instead of 350 and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
if your having people over for Christmas, this is one of the best recipies for potatoes I have used! Its a crowd pleaser and friendly across all ages! Add cheese for some fun if desired...ENJOY and happy holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The flavor was there, but the sauce was far too thin, and there was too much of it. I boiled it for a good while and still didn't get the sauce right. The sauce was so plentiful that the potatoes were floating in it. I was concerned with this, but hoped the liquid would absorb. Next time, I will ask my mom for her recipe. If I had to use this one, I would use more flour and less milk, and also cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great base, I made sure to add a touch of crushed garlic and some cheese to the top. I found I needed to spend some extra time with the sauce to make sure it would thicken to a nice consistency. Theyre in the oven and cant wait to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This dish came out creamy and delicious. Great directions! just added some paprika and dried parsley for color and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States