Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
These were a big hit last night. I followed the recipe except I added garlic with the onions and paprika to the seasonings. I did cook a bit longer than suggested and the consistency was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I don't think I can ever have them from the box again! and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These were a hit with my non-potato-loving husband! I did cut the salt and add 2 chicken bouillon cubes as was suggested by another member, I also added garlic powder to the sauce and topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These deserve more than a 5-star rating. I made them EXACTLY as the recipe stated and they were by far the BEST scalloped potates I have ever eaten! I thought the 5 cups of milk seemed like a lot, but I was wrong, it was perfect. If it helps, 6 cups of thinly sliced potatoes was about 2 pounds of peeled potatoes, that's what I went by and the consistency was perfect! The key is to let them set up for maybe 10 minutes or so after you take them out of the oven, the sauce thickens to perfection... I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
No reason not to give this 5 stars. I followed the recipe exactly (impossible to equitably rate a recipe if you have not done this!) and FINALLY got the 'home-style' and basic scalloped potato dish I've been looking for for years. Basic pepper gravy style baking sauce complements the potatoes in this dish perfectly- very economical. This is the kind of recipe for which I'm likely to have everything on hand in my kitchen. I can see where this is a great base recipe too, for additons. But I'm making it again today, just as is, because it is so affordable (I'm out of cheese!) and so so goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is a lovely recipe, especially, if like me, you have deep feelings of revulsion for ANYTHING cook in soup!!!! I did add a few things to my sauce, but that was simple based on personal preference, the recipe as is, stands on its own. I served mine with grilled orange/cranberry glazed pork chops. Loved by everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made his recipe today. I tried to follow it as it was written, but after an hour I got tired of trying to get the white sauce to thicken and poured it in a microwave safe bowl and nuked it a minute at a time until it thickened. I had already parboiled (steamed) the potatoes. In the end it took 1 1/2 hrs. for the potatoes to be fork tender. I really didn't see how it made any difference from me throwing the milk, flour, seasonings and potatoes together in the baking dish and letting it bake as opposed to making a white sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I did need 75 minutes for cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Half recipe with thinly sliced redskins layerd with raw onion (made it really sweet). Added crushed garlic as a reviewer mentioned. Sauce tighted up perfectly with 75 minutes of cooking and 15 minutes standing time after removing it from the oven. Good recipe. I can see how you could easily modify this for a main dish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good, creamy and perfect at 70 minutes with the potatoes sliced thin. I added some diced ham in the middle of the layers along with some shredded cheese. Then topped with some sliced cheese which I love when it is all browned...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Displaying results 71-80 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States