Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The consistency was nice, but the flavor was bland. Perhaps I just don't like scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
great recipe.! followed exactly and it came out great. used a mandolin to slice the potatoes and made it super easy and uniform sized slices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaquelynny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! Just added some garlic and onion. Adding cheeses changes these from scalloped potatoes to au gratin potatoes so those that did this did not have scalloped potatoes. Just sayin'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Recipe worked fine for me. I think Julie should try something other than cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Awesome! The only changes I made were adding a clove of garlic, 1/2 tsp dried thyme leaves, and a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Very good. I prefer my scalloped potatoes with a little heavier sauce so instead of 5 cups milk, I used 2 1/2 cups milk and 2 1/2 cups sour cream. I also added green onion and diced ham for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Great recipe. I added 2 of my grandmas secret ingredients( a 2 tbs mustard and 2 tbs cheddar broccoli soup powder mix, the kind w/out little pieces of freeze dried powder mix) A quick tip to those of you talking about how long it had to cook, Boils the potatoes for 5 to 10 minutes while your making the sauce. Then drain them and continue with the rest of the steps. Cuts your baking time in half!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aryas_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Since Scalloped Potato's is not one of those dishes you eat often, here's what I do to mine. Instead of sauteing the onions in butter, I use bacon fat. I also add a clove of crushed garlic. In lieu of milk I use canned evaporated milk. When the milk is added to the flour/grease mixture I also grate just a dash of fresh nutmeg into the milk mixture. It gives you that "yum, what is that factor." Gives the dish a little added richness. I also grate fresh parmasean cheese over the top. As a final touch just as I remove it from the over, I crumble bacon over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Delish!! I followed the recipe exactly and then threw in grated gruyere cheese on top of both layers of the white sauce. Like other reviewers, I baked it 75minutes. A perfect recipe for company or the family! And extra easy now that I use my food processor to slice the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Ryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This taste exactly like the Scalloped Potatoes my mom always made. She never followed a recipe. She eye balled and taste tested everything so she can't give me exact measurements. This is it and AWESOME!!!! just as written. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States