Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Pretty good! While not as flavorful as I'd hoped, these ended up being the perfect complement to my Easter dinner. Initially, I found these to be terribly bland and thought my dinner guests would agree (I like bold flavors, so I was a tad disappointed). To my surprise, it was the delicate flavor that ended up appealing to me. When served alongside my Easter ham and other sides, the subltle flavor was spot on. :) Having said this, I DO think these are in need of FAR more s&p than called for. Garlic would also be a nice addition. All in all, I'm glad to have given these a try, but perfer au gratin potatoes a tad better (I guess I'm just a cheesehead lol!). Thanks for sharing, Christine! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Made these for Easter dinner and they were a huge hit. Very simple to make. I left the skin on the potatoes to save time and also added shredded cheddar cheese between the layers, and then just before removing from the oven, I added some on top. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Tonight was the first time I tried making Scalloped Potatoes, and I'm glad I found this simple, but delicious recipe. The gravy came out sooo yummy, and the potatoes cooked in good time. When they were cooked all the way, I turned on the oven broiler for just a few minutes to add some toasty-ness, then I added some shredded cheese on top...MMmmmm mmmm good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made these for Easter dinner, with tweaks for dietary needs. I added 3 cloves of garlic and 1 teaspoon of minced fresh rosemary. I used Better Batter gluten free flour, and almond milk to make them gluten free and lactose free. Everyone LOVED them, and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
AMAZING! We added ham to use up the Easter leftovers and my husband wanted to eat the entire dish himself (and he's a tough food critic!) Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this on the weekend and it was amazing. Everyone loved it. The only thing I changed was the butter...I used bacon drippings instead and the flavour was so delicious. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious! I halved the recipe for a smaller group and couldn't help but add cheese to it, about a cup of shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I needed to find a "no cheese" scalloped potato recipe for my family for Easter and selected this one. It was wonderful -- my picky brother-in-law loved it! I made this recipe exactly as is except added about a 1/3 cup of real bacon bits to the sauce. I cut the potatoes with a mandoline set at 1/8" so the potatoes were thick enough that they did not stick together (tip from Cooks Illustrated). i also layered the pan with two layers of potatoes and sauce. I also used whole milk to give it richness since it was a holiday dinner. Definitely will make again! Do try -- it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
super yummy! I used half milk and half cream and added cheddar cheese . Simply delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Good but bland. I looked at other recipes with actual cheese, wish I would've tried one of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States