Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I liked it very much. I would keep this as a regular dish on my menu. Easy and delicious. Especially for the elderly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Quite frankly, I would rather substitute this dish with "Gratin Dauphinoise".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
When I make this recipe I add cheese to it. I find if I slice my potatoes and boil them for about 5 minutes, it does't take as long to bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I haven't made this recipe, but I have baked scalloped potatoes for years. My suggestion to reduce the cooking time that some reviewers are having is to use a shallow baking dish or pan. I use sliced onions and grated cheddar and usually top this with pork chops, which have been browned first. Can't add this comment without rating, but the ingredients all look good to me. The directions do say to cook the white sauce until thickened and I wonder if the 'runny' dishes may have been made by not following this step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is the exact same recipe my mother used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is my all time favorite dish my Mother made for me whenever she asked me what to make, and what I use to make scalloped potatoes, the only thing that both of us add is we cook up 2 packages of original porkie links and add them before cooking or sometimes left over ham. But my Mom and I like the porkie links myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe. I made it according to the recipe but added a small can of chopped green chiles and about two teaspoons of garlic powder along with a splash of hot sauce and some grated cheddar on top. To give it a head start I gave it four minutes in the microwave on high before putting it in the oven. It all disappeared quickly at a potluck and I was asked for the recipe. This is an easy to make keeper. As several others mentioned, allow some extra time for the potatoes to fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was a great and easy recipe. I even cut the recipe in half since I was only making it for two and it turned out great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
amazing potatoes!!! super easy to make and great flavor! I did change it a bit. I added velveeta cheese to the sauce after it thickened and since i had some heavy cream i needed to use up i used 1.5 cups cream and 1.5 cups milk. I also added left over ham from easter dinner! will def use this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Pretty good! While not as flavorful as I'd hoped, these ended up being the perfect complement to my Easter dinner. Initially, I found these to be terribly bland and thought my dinner guests would agree (I like bold flavors, so I was a tad disappointed). To my surprise, it was the delicate flavor that ended up appealing to me. When served alongside my Easter ham and other sides, the subltle flavor was spot on. :) Having said this, I DO think these are in need of FAR more s&p than called for. Garlic would also be a nice addition. All in all, I'm glad to have given these a try, but perfer au gratin potatoes a tad better (I guess I'm just a cheesehead lol!). Thanks for sharing, Christine! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States