Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, but did add chunks of ham....sliced the potatoes on a box grater....put all in a 9x13 pan....hubby had three servings!! Wonderful recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These were very good. Only reason for only 4 stars is that after reading a couple reviews I did simply add a bit more flour to make my sauce thicker. Husband and kids cleaned their plates happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I liked it very much. I would keep this as a regular dish on my menu. Easy and delicious. Especially for the elderly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Quite frankly, I would rather substitute this dish with "Gratin Dauphinoise".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
When I make this recipe I add cheese to it. I find if I slice my potatoes and boil them for about 5 minutes, it does't take as long to bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I haven't made this recipe, but I have baked scalloped potatoes for years. My suggestion to reduce the cooking time that some reviewers are having is to use a shallow baking dish or pan. I use sliced onions and grated cheddar and usually top this with pork chops, which have been browned first. Can't add this comment without rating, but the ingredients all look good to me. The directions do say to cook the white sauce until thickened and I wonder if the 'runny' dishes may have been made by not following this step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is the exact same recipe my mother used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is my all time favorite dish my Mother made for me whenever she asked me what to make, and what I use to make scalloped potatoes, the only thing that both of us add is we cook up 2 packages of original porkie links and add them before cooking or sometimes left over ham. But my Mom and I like the porkie links myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe. I made it according to the recipe but added a small can of chopped green chiles and about two teaspoons of garlic powder along with a splash of hot sauce and some grated cheddar on top. To give it a head start I gave it four minutes in the microwave on high before putting it in the oven. It all disappeared quickly at a potluck and I was asked for the recipe. This is an easy to make keeper. As several others mentioned, allow some extra time for the potatoes to fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was a great and easy recipe. I even cut the recipe in half since I was only making it for two and it turned out great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States