Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Using a 3qt dish is going to require more baking time. Use a 9 x 13 pan, and the 60-70 minutes will work. Also, try adding a small amount of chopped green pepper and or ham. It really boosts the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
so good - my only issue is why does it take them so long to cook. It took much more than an hour. I have this issue every single time I make scalloped potatoes. But this recipe was so good it was worth the waiting and waiting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
added 1/2 tsp.garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Loved these potatoes. You must make sure you let your sauce thicken before adding to the potatoes. Also, after I thinly sliced my potatoes I microwaved them with a small amount of water for about 4 minutes. Drained the water and continued on with the recipe. My kids and hubby raved over them. I'm sure they will request these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Great old fashion recipe with flavor. I did add some ham chunks and next time a little more flour.Was a little to runny. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Warnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I followed the advise of several reviewers. I sliced and boiled the potatoes for 5-10 mins. This cut my cooking time down in the oven to 40 mins. When sauting the onions in butter, I also added roasted garlic and nutmeg. Instead of using all 5 cups of milk. I used 2 1/2 cups of Half and Half and 2 1/2 of milk. At the end, I sprinkled shreddred parmesan cheese over the top. The dish turned out really yummy! The only thing I would do different next time is in I would put parmesan on the 1st layer before adding the second layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I did parboil my potatoes first to cut down on cooking time, and added a pinch of nutmeg to the sauce - can't remember where I heard of it, but is takes the flavor of the dish to a totally different place and it's delish! kept everything else the same. Good recipe for Sunday dinner, a little too much work for a week night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Not very flavorful. I gave it the three stars because it is nice and creamy. I added some garlic with the onion, but still needed more. Will probably make again with more seasoning, maybe even bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, but did add chunks of ham....sliced the potatoes on a box grater....put all in a 9x13 pan....hubby had three servings!! Wonderful recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These were very good. Only reason for only 4 stars is that after reading a couple reviews I did simply add a bit more flour to make my sauce thicker. Husband and kids cleaned their plates happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States