Home-Style Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Using a 3qt dish is going to require more baking time. Use a 9 x 13 pan, and the 60-70 minutes will work. Also, try adding a small amount of chopped green pepper and or ham. It really boosts the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
so good - my only issue is why does it take them so long to cook. It took much more than an hour. I have this issue every single time I make scalloped potatoes. But this recipe was so good it was worth the waiting and waiting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
added 1/2 tsp.garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Loved these potatoes. You must make sure you let your sauce thicken before adding to the potatoes. Also, after I thinly sliced my potatoes I microwaved them with a small amount of water for about 4 minutes. Drained the water and continued on with the recipe. My kids and hubby raved over them. I'm sure they will request these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Great old fashion recipe with flavor. I did add some ham chunks and next time a little more flour.Was a little to runny. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Warnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I followed the advise of several reviewers. I sliced and boiled the potatoes for 5-10 mins. This cut my cooking time down in the oven to 40 mins. When sauting the onions in butter, I also added roasted garlic and nutmeg. Instead of using all 5 cups of milk. I used 2 1/2 cups of Half and Half and 2 1/2 of milk. At the end, I sprinkled shreddred parmesan cheese over the top. The dish turned out really yummy! The only thing I would do different next time is in I would put parmesan on the 1st layer before adding the second layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I did parboil my potatoes first to cut down on cooking time, and added a pinch of nutmeg to the sauce - can't remember where I heard of it, but is takes the flavor of the dish to a totally different place and it's delish! kept everything else the same. Good recipe for Sunday dinner, a little too much work for a week night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Not very flavorful. I gave it the three stars because it is nice and creamy. I added some garlic with the onion, but still needed more. Will probably make again with more seasoning, maybe even bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, but did add chunks of ham....sliced the potatoes on a box grater....put all in a 9x13 pan....hubby had three servings!! Wonderful recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These were very good. Only reason for only 4 stars is that after reading a couple reviews I did simply add a bit more flour to make my sauce thicker. Husband and kids cleaned their plates happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States