Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I have made this twice this week and it will be a regular! I used green peas instead of chickpeas the second time, and liked that better. Also trickled in a little soy sauce at the end. I have not done the egg. Totally delicious! you could use any grain of choice or make other substitutions or additions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made a few veggie substitutions to use what I had on hand and please the picky eaters in my family (no mushrooms!) and the recipe stilled turned out fantastic. Especially easy thanks to my beloved rice cooker, one of my favorite kitchen gadgets. I used 1/2 water 1/2 chicken stock with the rice for flavor. When I make it again I will probably punch up the heat a little with red/black/chili pepper spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was wonderful! I read the reviews and decided to follow the recipe exactly (how else can I give it an accurate review?) My kids wanted a 3rd helping. Make sure to add salt and pepper to taste at the end. I think the recommended soy sauce on the side would have ruined the dish. It didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
We were out of chickpeas and skipped the parsley, but this was very tasty. I appreciated adding soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was a delicious dish. I loved the fact that you can substitued or omit items without a problem. I just used things out of the veggie draw and added them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
The dish was alright, nothing spectacular. I probably would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I make this meal almost every week! Served with a little tamari, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This recipe has an abundance of subtle flavor. My husband loved it and asked for seconds. I was going to initially serve this as a side dish but it was so hearty that it stood on its own and I served it solo. When I combined the rice with the rest of the ingredients in the skillet, the mixture seemed a little dry so I added one cup of low-sodium chicken broth. That did the trick. Thanks for the great recipe, Jen. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was so good, my mother-in-law called for the recipe the last time she was having company for dinner! I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Yummy, yummy.....and did I say yummy? Finally. A recipe to convert my white rice loving family to brown. And with such ease. They all enjoyed this. Made it as written with the exception of changing carrots to red peppers. Thanks Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States