Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
If you use instant brown rice, it takes only 15 mn to make this recipe. It's really good if you need a quick, filling meal. My husband didn't like the chick peas in it, but I thought it was ok. Don't forget the soy sauce =) I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Delicious! I left out the mushrooms (not a fan) and cut the salt in half. I added hot sauce and soy sauce to the rice while it cooked, and added crushed red pepper to the veggies while they were cooking (The end result was really spicy... I may have to lay off next time, ha!). I used about 1 1/2 tsp. of ground parsley instead of fresh. This went together really easily and it was really filling! I have also substituted zuchinni instead of mushrooms. Also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This was wonderful. I omitted the mushrooms and cashews and added some red pepper since we like things spicy at our house. We served this as a side dish with salmon grilled in a ginger sesame sauce. It was a terrific compliment to the fish and would be great just to eat alone! Thanks for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This recipe was a little too much on the "blah" side for us. I might try it again using the substituitions. I'm not sure,even then, that it will end up worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I have made this dish several times. I omit the chickpeas and nuts, and it still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
I cooked the rice with chicken broth and it added excellent flavor, but should have used low-salt broth OR serve with low-salt soy sauce. I added a little ground red pepper and used cilantro instead of parsley. Was a total, nice surprise to see my teenagers eat all these veggies without a complaint (except that it was salty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This was alright, it sort of tasted like a "wannabe" fried rice with the soysauce. I was looking for more of an Indian inspired pilaf, this wasn't it, on with my search...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
While I did alter this recipe a bit based on suggestions from others and our personal preferences, it was still really good and I'm sure the original recipe is just as good! Here's what I did - I substituted pine nuts for the cashews, omitted the mushrooms and chickpeas (my husband doesn't like them), added the spices & pine nuts when I sauted the onions & carrots, and only used one egg. I think I ate four servings! (Note: I've made this a ton of times since my initial review and have been using chickpeas instead of nuts and omitting the eggs due to my kids' food allergies. So good! Plus it would make a great vegetarian meal since the chickpeas add protein.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I found the addition of chick peas too gave the overall taste a "too-much-starchiness" texture. The flavor was mild, and I highly recommend this dish to be had with something sweeter on the side. Overall though, not bad. And I'll probably cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I really liked this recipe and so did my husband, however it was not a big hit with my 9 year old! I made MISO BBQ CHICKEN (recipe on allrecipes.com) and she loved that! This was a suited match for the rice pilaf. I will make it again! I did not add the chickpeas or nuts... not a fan of either...turned out great anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States