Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
I cooked the rice with chicken broth and it added excellent flavor, but should have used low-salt broth OR serve with low-salt soy sauce. I added a little ground red pepper and used cilantro instead of parsley. Was a total, nice surprise to see my teenagers eat all these veggies without a complaint (except that it was salty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This was alright, it sort of tasted like a "wannabe" fried rice with the soysauce. I was looking for more of an Indian inspired pilaf, this wasn't it, on with my search...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
While I did alter this recipe a bit based on suggestions from others and our personal preferences, it was still really good and I'm sure the original recipe is just as good! Here's what I did - I substituted pine nuts for the cashews, omitted the mushrooms and chickpeas (my husband doesn't like them), added the spices & pine nuts when I sauted the onions & carrots, and only used one egg. I think I ate four servings! (Note: I've made this a ton of times since my initial review and have been using chickpeas instead of nuts and omitting the eggs due to my kids' food allergies. So good! Plus it would make a great vegetarian meal since the chickpeas add protein.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I found the addition of chick peas too gave the overall taste a "too-much-starchiness" texture. The flavor was mild, and I highly recommend this dish to be had with something sweeter on the side. Overall though, not bad. And I'll probably cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I really liked this recipe and so did my husband, however it was not a big hit with my 9 year old! I made MISO BBQ CHICKEN (recipe on allrecipes.com) and she loved that! This was a suited match for the rice pilaf. I will make it again! I did not add the chickpeas or nuts... not a fan of either...turned out great anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I used left-over cooked brown rice and omitted the first step. The overall flavor was good, and I would try this one again, maybe using chicken broth for liquid to add more flavor. Didn't use the mushrooms because I didn't have them on hand. I would not use the chickpeas next time - we just weren't crazy about them. The cashews added a nice touch to the flavor and texture - they are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Yummmmm! I left out the nuts as I had non but the rest came out perfect, even better with a dash of soya sauce. I haven't used chick peas much so was glad I thought to soak them over night! Here is my fave recipie for Chick peas: "Chana": you soak the chick peas in water, usually overnight, until they are puffed up and look like the ones you get in a can. Drain them very well, deep fry in oil (like fries) until you can hear them start to pop and they get golden brown. Drain on paper towels, sprinkle with salt and garlic powder (and hot pepper sauce :-P) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
THIS IS THE BEST RICE EVER. EXCELLENT. I FOLLOWED THE OTHER PERSONS SUBSTITUTION IDEAS. CORN INSTEAD OF CHICKPEAS, BROTH INSTEAD OF WATER, PINENUTS INSTEAD OF CASHEWS. IT TURNED OUT GREAT. SUPER HEALTHY AND SUPER HEARTY I WILL MAKE THIS A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Awesome is an understatement. I did make a few changes since we like spicy food. I sauteed the rice before cooking and used chicken broth. I sauteed onion, chopped celery, chopped carrots, garlic and coarsely chopped mushrooms and added cayenne for bite. I replaced the chickpeas with vacuum packed corn and substituted pinon nuts for cashews. To die for. I served with pounded, sauteed chicken breasts and frozen cut leaf spinach seasoned with rice vinegar. I will make time and time again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Oh wow this is awesome!! I had to modify a little bit...I sauteed onion, celery, carrots, garlic and mushrooms, added a little ground red pepper for kick and cooked the rice in chicken broth. DEEELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States