Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I love the interesting combination of flavors and textures. I made the recipe exactly as is except I used dried cooked chick peas instead of canned, olive oil in place of the butter, and dried parsley in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I made this exactly as shown and it is delicious! It was easy to make and the flavors work well together. Thank you so much for a delicious and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This rice is awesome, and so versitle. You can use it with almost any dish with a variety of vegatables, whatever you have on hand. Thanks for the submission!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
What a wonderful idea. I did add a little bit more salt after tasting it. I also forgot to purchase the nuts, so I added cranberries. Nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
love it, love it thanks! I used walnuts and was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I loved this Rice and so did my husband... Although I did make some changes, I left out the mushrooms and parsley and eggs... I added 1/3 cup of rasions, 1 tsp. of cumin and a dash of cinnamon, and a tsp of Worcestershire sauce to the rice as it was boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I've made this dozens of times and am finally reviewing it. I LOVE this recipe - have made it many times for family gatherings and many people have asked for the recipe. It's low fat, nutritious and delicious - I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Oh, my Gosh! I've made brown rice pilaf before but have never added chickpeas and cashews before. These two ingredients go so well with the brown rice and soooo YUMMY! Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as described. It's a little bit bland, but a good way to get a bunch of vegetables. It lacks color... Next time I'll add snow peas or some other bright green thing. For other cooking newbies, be aware that the brown rice is very mushy and risotto-like (kind of like sushi rice) as opposed to light and airy like basmati.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I absolutely loved this! Cooked the rice in a steamer. The cashews added to the nutty flavor of the brown rice. Flexible since you can add whatever veggies you want. We omitted the chic peas and opted to not use the soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States