Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Very good combination despite not following the recipe exactly. Used boil-in-bag brown rice and then in a skillet, I sauteed fancy snow peas and sesame seeds. Did not have mushrooms. Then tossed together and then added green olives then I salted as necessary. Oh, I almost forgot, a pinch of basil too. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
The first few bites of this, I wasn't impressed and almost thought that I would have to make something else, but it did grow on me. It's by no means my favorite recipe, but it is healthy and fairly cheap to make, and it fills you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I thought this was excellent. I added green peas. Cooked the rice in my rice cooker. I will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Made this for dinner last night as an accompanyment to my main dish of Calves' Liver with Sherry ( another great recipe from this site). I was trying to get a brown rice dish for this main coarse and the 'pilaf' caught my eye. Normally I don't use rice as my wife is not a rice fan, but I had made another pilaf a while back ( From Tase of Home )that she really liked, so tried this one (with some changes as others had suggested). I used a 14 oz. can of beef broth and a 10.5 oz. can of Cambells French Onion Soup instead of the water, and extra virgin olive oil instead of butter. I left out the carrots, salt, mushrooms ( wife doesn't like them) and the chickpeas. I added 2 roasted red peppers ( for color )cut up into 3/4" pieces for the mushrooms and used a small can of corn in place of the chickpeas. also did not use soy sauce. Other than that I followed the cooking time exactly, and the rice came out perfect. Wife said it was really good, so you get 5 stars. And it went very well with the Liver dish. It is another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Comerio P.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Spey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Well, I'm thrilled with this recipe! I say that I don't cook, and I don't usually but I was going away for the weekend with a group of people and I was told to bring a rice dish, so I found this one and read all of the comments. Then I decided on what I wanted in the recipe. Here's what I did. I was making it for a serving of 12, so I substituted one can of chicken broth for the water to cook the rice in, I only used 2 carrots (less than the recipe suggested for 12 servings), omitted eggs and chickpeas completely and used 1/2 bag of frozen peas, used pecans instead of walnuts, and added a hefty amount of dark raisins. It was a smash! Everyone loved it, as did I! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
left out the mushrooms because my children won't eat them & cooked the rice with chicken broth...we loved it. I have made it several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Omitted mushrooms, added peas. Used only one egg. Had no cashews so used crushed almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I love the interesting combination of flavors and textures. I made the recipe exactly as is except I used dried cooked chick peas instead of canned, olive oil in place of the butter, and dried parsley in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I made this exactly as shown and it is delicious! It was easy to make and the flavors work well together. Thank you so much for a delicious and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States