Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Like another reviewer said...what a GREAT basic recipe that you can alter many ways to satisfy your tastes. I have already made it a couple times..with and without the eggs. It was great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was okay - it's basically just brown rice fried rice. Made per the recipe except I don't like chickpeas so subbed peas and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was delicious! I modified it a bit working with what I had on hand (i.e. pecans instead of cashews.) Overall, it is a great recipe, very flexible with ingredient preferences. I look forward to trying it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Very good! Idid make some small alterations. No mushrooms,no eggs,used toasted pine nuts, and I added one stalk chopped celery. I overcooked the onion. This is a definite in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This dish was an excellent accompaniment to the chicken I prepared. The flavors were so well blended that the pilaf overshadowed the chicken! This dish would be a meal in itself if you added finely chopped cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was was super excellent! I had brown rice at my sisters house and thought I didn't like it. I'll have to share this super tasty dish with her. I followed the recipe just added celery. Omitted the nuts and didn't use any worcestershire. I did add a pinch of red pepper. Wasn't sure where the 1/2 t. of salt went, but I added a little to my veggies. I added 1 egg but next time I'll omit it.My brown rice came out a little runny, maybe I just added a little too much chicken stock. I will definately make this dish over and over. Thanks for sharing this wonderful dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
One of my favorite things to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Winnsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great as an entree or side dish. It is very versatile as you can omit some of the veggies or other ingredients if you don't have them on hand (as I often do) and it still turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E. Bice
Home Town: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
The ingredients are great and healthy, but too plain for my taste. My kids did enjoy it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I loved how the chick peas tasted with all of the other ingredients. I did not put the cashews in, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States