Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was okay - it's basically just brown rice fried rice. Made per the recipe except I don't like chickpeas so subbed peas and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was delicious! I modified it a bit working with what I had on hand (i.e. pecans instead of cashews.) Overall, it is a great recipe, very flexible with ingredient preferences. I look forward to trying it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Very good! Idid make some small alterations. No mushrooms,no eggs,used toasted pine nuts, and I added one stalk chopped celery. I overcooked the onion. This is a definite in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This dish was an excellent accompaniment to the chicken I prepared. The flavors were so well blended that the pilaf overshadowed the chicken! This dish would be a meal in itself if you added finely chopped cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was was super excellent! I had brown rice at my sisters house and thought I didn't like it. I'll have to share this super tasty dish with her. I followed the recipe just added celery. Omitted the nuts and didn't use any worcestershire. I did add a pinch of red pepper. Wasn't sure where the 1/2 t. of salt went, but I added a little to my veggies. I added 1 egg but next time I'll omit it.My brown rice came out a little runny, maybe I just added a little too much chicken stock. I will definately make this dish over and over. Thanks for sharing this wonderful dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
One of my favorite things to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Winnsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great as an entree or side dish. It is very versatile as you can omit some of the veggies or other ingredients if you don't have them on hand (as I often do) and it still turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E. Bice
Home Town: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
The ingredients are great and healthy, but too plain for my taste. My kids did enjoy it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I loved how the chick peas tasted with all of the other ingredients. I did not put the cashews in, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe, with a few changes. I saute the onions, garlic, carrots and chick peas with a pince of cayenne pepper until vegs are tender (I skip the mushrooms) Then I add the rice and saute until the rice starts to brown. Then I add Veg. broth instead of water and cover to cook until rice is tender. May need to add more water until rice is done. Add nuts and herbs at end (I skip the eggs also).The cayenne gives the dish a nice kick! Next time I will add a little sherry with the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States