Home-Style Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Delicious! Just substituted butter with olive oil, and used cilantro instead of parsley as recommended at the beginning of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I made this as an accompaniment to a pork loin roast, so I left out the eggs and stirred some of the roast drippings into the rice just before serving. It was very tasty and very filling. I made soup from the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I thought this was a pretty good recipe but I did make some changes. I added 2 additional cloves of garlic and about 3T of soy sauce during cooking. My friends and I thought that the flavor of the carrots was too much and if I make this again would either leave them out completely or use only 1 carrot and shred it instead of slice it. But in general I thought this was an enjoyable recipe and good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is an interesting combination of ingredients. You expect it to be Asian but then there's butter, chickpeas, black pepper and parsley which are not usual ingredients in Asian cooking. The first bite is a bit bland but then it really grows on you. I found myself coming back for more an hour later. I preferred the taste of the soy sauce added while cooking to adding it afterward. It seemed to blend in more and taste like it belonged. I had never fried chickpeas before and boy was that fun! They sound like popcorn popping and jump all around in the pan as their skins pop open. Over all, it was a pleasant tasting and very satisfying dish. Thanks for the recipe, Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was good, but I agree with others, that it is a little bland. It also reminded me more of fried rice than rice pilaf (as others have also mentioned). I will make it again, because I love how healthy it is, but I think I'll need to add a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Great dish! I added two cubes of vegetable bouillon and some hot sauce to the brown rice water to really kick up the flavor. Omitted the mushrooms, used 4 cloves of garlic, used an entire can of chickpeas (after rinsing), and substituted fresh parsley with dried, and cashews with raw pine nuts (pine nuts were chopped and sauteed with the onions). This was a HUGE hit with the roommates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
It's not often you get to combine "healthy" with "comfort" - this dish does it! I usually use 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil to saute the veggies. Also I don't add the chickpeas - hubby doesn't care for 'em. Cashews are a great touch that adds a richness to the dish. I like to serve it with soy sauce, and have added leftover chicken or ham to it to make it a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Excellent recipe, I added soy sauce/hot sauce & celery salt to the rice (it was a bit bland) red pepper to the veggies only cause I had it. I love rice dishes & this was a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millbrook, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Incredible recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Like another reviewer said...what a GREAT basic recipe that you can alter many ways to satisfy your tastes. I have already made it a couple times..with and without the eggs. It was great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States