Home Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My daughter wouldn't eat it. It's just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Too much ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I actually make this recipe quite often now. I really love all the flavors, and it is simple to make. I make it when I have leftover rice from the night before. I don't go by exact measurments, so I make it perfectly to my liking when it comes to the ketchup and butter. Yummmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keysgetaway

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Took others suggestions and added some chopped up chicken and halved the tomato sauce and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I first had omelet rice in Sasabo Japan in 1965 during a visit with the US Navy. A chef from Hong Kong prepared it for me. Much simpler than this recipe. Plain white rice was used. The omelet was two simply whipped eggs, fried on a flat top grill. The rice was put on top o the egg as a log. The egg was then wrapped around the rice. A line of ketchup was put on top of the roll and served on a small plate. I still make this for myself several times a year and love the simple creation while enjoying the complex flavors brought together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Loved it. I have sought this recipe for years after eating it in Okinawa. They included what I suspect was tripe in a small amount. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was so bad it was funny. My husband said (while fixing the kids something else) it was the worst thing I have cooked in five years of marriage. My kids would only eat the egg. I guess the simplicity of the recipe drew me in but thinking back...ketchup with rice.... I should have seen this coming. Going to stick with recipes with hundreds of good reviews for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
We are a host family for young Japanese students. When I found this recipe, I thought I would surprise them & make it for them. They LOVED it! Kept "yummmmm, yummmmm..." all through dinner. They said it tasted just like the Ohm Rice their mothers make at home. However, no one in my family liked it at all! My 6-yr old grandson (who usually loves ketchup!) said it tasted "Yucky!" & that he didn't like ketchup on his rice. My husband dutifully ate a few bites, then made himself a sandwich after dinner was over. I didn't like it, either. I normally like ketchup, but it was just too much for me. Our students enthusiastically packed up some to take for lunch & share with their friends. Not really sure how to rate this recipe. It was a toss up at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I followed the suggestions made about cutting the ketchup amount. I used half a cup of ketchup instead of a whole cup, because that seemed a bit much, I subbed peas for the carrots and scallions for the regular onion, I used 1 1/2 cups of rice to 2 cups of water becausel I followed the instructions on the brand of Asian rice I had. The final result was excellent. My family and I really enjoyed this breakfast. It was a fun change to our usual breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyz5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
To really kick up this meal, or any rice dish, use Jasmin Rice. The aroma while cooking and the taste are 9 levels above any basic rice. Norman Anderson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States