Home Made Top Tarts! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made these w/the 4H kids. They liked them. Frosting needed more milk, but they worked w/it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
The kids loved making these. They are 3 and 5 and both did very well. Using the pie crusts made it easy. Can't wait to try different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fun recipe to make. I have made these twice now. I had to bake mine for an extra 5 minutes for them to start turning brown. The frosting made way too much. I cut the frosting recipe in half the second time I made these and still had some left over. The frosted ones are super sweet. My husband preferred the pop tarts without any frosting at all. Tastes much better than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made my own crust (Ruth's Grandmother's Pie Crust). This uses a LOT of jam/jelly, so make sure you have a jar or two. I had the equivalent of one jar of apricot and grape jam/jelly(we liked the apricot better). I didn't make them all rectangular, some were more like strange triangles, and they were all very large. I didn't make the frosting, and it was sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Very tasty and very easy plus super cute. Taste way better than pop tarts. I think next time I will drizzle with the frosting as it was just too sweet for my taste. Super keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I normally use left over dough from making pies to make this stuff. Its so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was amazing!!! My dad loves pop tarts, so I thought I'd try this and it was well worth it! I took somone's suggestion and poked holes on the top while they baked, I'm glad I did. The frosting mixture is going to be, and was really sticky and thick, so I added a splash more milk and it helped and wasn't too runny. I also put them in for about nine instead of seven minutes because they weren't browned yet, but by the end they were and were'nt overdone. This is my first time making these, so I used strawberry preserves and they're great! Very easy, but kind of time consuming. Delicious! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Convenient and easy. liked the recipe. used roll out pie dough which was not as good as homemade crust. want to try it with pillsbury next time. made it with my son and he enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made these using Stephanie's basic flaky pie crust recipe because I didn't have any of the store bought kind. I used corn starch and heat to thicken up some raspberry jam and while that was cooling I spread a little Nutella on each then spread the raspberry jam. I wet a finger and ran it around the edges of the crust one one side before closing. Then crimped with fork. I opted for no frosting on top and I loved them. My son preferred them sprinkled with powder sugar. Very yummy and a lot easier to make than I suspected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
These are so awesome and super easy to make. I would cut the glaze recipe in half though. I made it according to the recipe and I only needed less than half. It encouraged me to make another batch of the pop tarts though. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Home Made Top Tarts!

See how to make your favorite toaster pastries from scratch.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States