Home Made Top Tarts! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These were DELICIOUS! I didn't have pie crust on hand and I only had whole wheat flour, so I used the recipe for "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" by stephanie and they were still great! My kids had a blast making them with me and they made for a great afternoon treat and not much mess either. :) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Vdh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
So much fun to make! I used the French Pastry Pie Crust recipe by TJ and some of my sister's homemade grape jelly, and didn't frost them. I wish I had poked holes in the top of them with a fork though, because the jelly spurted out some toward the end of baking time. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Lorraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Everyone I work with LOVED these! I made some with Strawberry Preserves, and some with Apricot Preserves, both were fabulous. I also left the pie crust round and just cut these into wedges, which works just as well, and everyone thought the pie slice shape was cute. On the frosting... I did some major tweaking. I made more of a glaze then a frosting, after people said the frosting was a little too sweet. I used milk, powdered sugar, almond extract & some Sweet Cream flavored coffee creamer, plus a small dab of butter. I brought all of this to a roiling boil, stiring constantly so the milk wouldn't scald. Let it boil for a few minutes to thicken... it gets to a light syrupy texture. I put a thin coat on each pastry. This glaze never hardened, and was a little sticky, even two days later, but everyone liked that about it. I think the almond toned down some of the sugary sweetness, and because it was a glaze only it was more of a compliment to the fruit flavor, it didn't compete at all. I tried making a maple brown sugar... but the mixture melted out in the baking... will report back if I figure out how to make this flavor correctly. (was a really yummy oops though!) Will DEFINATELY be using this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShandeeV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
So easy! We just cut our pie crust into 8 "slices" per crust and poked holes in the top crust with a fork. We didn't bother with the icing as it was so yummy by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Wow!! I made my own pie crust recipe and used more jelly in the middle, but no icing. It didn't need it, but I'm sure it's a nice addition. These are even better than the kind you buy. Not nearly as dense! I'll make these again with other flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
So yummy, and such a good idea. I used a pie crust from this site and it worked out great. I did have to cook them much longer than 7 minutes to get them at all golden in color. We also tried some with chocolate chips inside and while they didn't totally melt the kids didn't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
really good, easy I think i will experiment with the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Photo by Jen64
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Yum! - the kids loved this and it was fun to make with my daughter - she especially loved sealing the edges with a fork and eating them! I made them with the French Pastry Pie Crust from this site, using half whole wheat flour and butter (didn't have shortening on hand). I used a low sugar strawberry jam and used about a tablespoon because of one review that said it could use more. This was a good amount. Next time I am going to try to make a large batch to freeze prior to baking for a great treat to have on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
REALLY Good! I used some left over icing I had in the fridge. Also just stuck to the strawberry preserves. My husband even liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made these for a Sunday brunch, and they were super easy, quick, and absolutely delicious - way better than Pop Tarts! I used blackberry jam as I didn't have strawberry, and decorated with store bought frosting as I didn't have confec. sugar on hand. Sprinkled with colored sugar, they were a huge hit! Thanks Kellweeeeezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pizzapiepan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Home Made Top Tarts!

See how to make your favorite toaster pastries from scratch.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States