Home Made Top Tarts! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These were DELICIOUS! I didn't have pie crust on hand and I only had whole wheat flour, so I used the recipe for "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" by stephanie and they were still great! My kids had a blast making them with me and they made for a great afternoon treat and not much mess either. :) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vdhme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
So much fun to make! I used the French Pastry Pie Crust recipe by TJ and some of my sister's homemade grape jelly, and didn't frost them. I wish I had poked holes in the top of them with a fork though, because the jelly spurted out some toward the end of baking time. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Lorraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
So easy! We just cut our pie crust into 8 "slices" per crust and poked holes in the top crust with a fork. We didn't bother with the icing as it was so yummy by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
These came out better than I expected. The recipe is super easy and I will make it again. The only I change I'll make next time is to try a different frosting. I found the one in this recipe to be way too sweet. They probably would be plenty yummy plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very simple and quite good. I think I'd use more jelly next time. I also only made 1/2 the frosting and that was the perfect amount to have none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Kids flipped for this. We had a blast this morning making these. We used both strawberry preserves and blackberry-currant jam. This was a VERY special treat. NOTE: I would like to try this with a homemade pie crust and really send it through the roof, flavor-wise. Frosting was quite sweet. Might use one with a little lemon juice to ofset the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen64
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Yum! - the kids loved this and it was fun to make with my daughter - she especially loved sealing the edges with a fork and eating them! I made them with the French Pastry Pie Crust from this site, using half whole wheat flour and butter (didn't have shortening on hand). I used a low sugar strawberry jam and used about a tablespoon because of one review that said it could use more. This was a good amount. Next time I am going to try to make a large batch to freeze prior to baking for a great treat to have on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
So easy and such a great treat. I simply used a can of white frosting and melted it in the microwave and poured it over the "pop tart." Add any sprinkles you have on hand, and I happened to have spring ones, which were really cute! I can see making individual ones as a special birthday treat at a party. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Presecky Fetting

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. Not much flavor, and the frosting was way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Wow!! I made my own pie crust recipe and used more jelly in the middle, but no icing. It didn't need it, but I'm sure it's a nice addition. These are even better than the kind you buy. Not nearly as dense! I'll make these again with other flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Home Made Top Tarts!

See how to make your favorite toaster pastries from scratch.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States