Home Made Top Tarts! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I made these for a Sunday brunch, and they were super easy, quick, and absolutely delicious - way better than Pop Tarts! I used blackberry jam as I didn't have strawberry, and decorated with store bought frosting as I didn't have confec. sugar on hand. Sprinkled with colored sugar, they were a huge hit! Thanks Kellweeeeezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pizzapiepan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
REALLY Good! I used some left over icing I had in the fridge. Also just stuck to the strawberry preserves. My husband even liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Wow!! I made my own pie crust recipe and used more jelly in the middle, but no icing. It didn't need it, but I'm sure it's a nice addition. These are even better than the kind you buy. Not nearly as dense! I'll make these again with other flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. Not much flavor, and the frosting was way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
So easy and such a great treat. I simply used a can of white frosting and melted it in the microwave and poured it over the "pop tart." Add any sprinkles you have on hand, and I happened to have spring ones, which were really cute! I can see making individual ones as a special birthday treat at a party. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen64
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Yum! - the kids loved this and it was fun to make with my daughter - she especially loved sealing the edges with a fork and eating them! I made them with the French Pastry Pie Crust from this site, using half whole wheat flour and butter (didn't have shortening on hand). I used a low sugar strawberry jam and used about a tablespoon because of one review that said it could use more. This was a good amount. Next time I am going to try to make a large batch to freeze prior to baking for a great treat to have on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Kids flipped for this. We had a blast this morning making these. We used both strawberry preserves and blackberry-currant jam. This was a VERY special treat. NOTE: I would like to try this with a homemade pie crust and really send it through the roof, flavor-wise. Frosting was quite sweet. Might use one with a little lemon juice to ofset the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very simple and quite good. I think I'd use more jelly next time. I also only made 1/2 the frosting and that was the perfect amount to have none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
These came out better than I expected. The recipe is super easy and I will make it again. The only I change I'll make next time is to try a different frosting. I found the one in this recipe to be way too sweet. They probably would be plenty yummy plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
So easy! We just cut our pie crust into 8 "slices" per crust and poked holes in the top crust with a fork. We didn't bother with the icing as it was so yummy by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States