Home Made Top Tarts! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
these are SO GOOD and so easy! My husband loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Better then poptarts which I can't stand. But, I think they would be even better with a pie filling. You do need to add a good glaze onto them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I have to eat sugar free which means a really miss pop tarts! i've made these with sf jam and skipped the topping, perfect fix! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leelo
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These are awesome! A few weeks ago I was looking on this site for a breakfast pastry recipe and couldn't find one. I happened to run across this one randomly today and got so excited! I scratch made my favorite pie crust and used Apple Butter in some and Strawberry Jam in some for the filling (we liked the strawberry the best). I added the filling generously and baked for 9 minutes. I did not find them messy like some other reviewers. Perhaps because I made sure to pinch and roll the edges together with my fingers before using my fork to press the design. This recipe is a great way to use up leftover crust. I will definitely be making these again! (95)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by erikagee
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I'm only giving these 4 stars because they were really messy to make. They were also messy to eat the next day when I put them in the microwave to heat them up. I took the advise of other reviewers and they were still quite messy, and the bake time took way more then 7 mins. I only made half the frosting because I only made 6 pop tarts. I will say they tasted better then the pop tarts from the store and that is why I gave them 4 stars although if I judged just on taste it would have gotten 5 stars. I will make these again but probably not to often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These are very good. I used blackberry jam and Nutella in them. I did not use the frosting but I am going to try on some. The one thing I changed was I had to cook a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is a genius idea! Mine turned out great but the concept is perfect for a savory pocket as well. I made small round pockets with cream cheese, pesto and pepperoni and they were amazing! You could also do cream cheese and pickled jalapeno for an easy play on a jalapeno popper. Also, if you can get your hands on some Goya fruit paste (we used mango) that eliminates anything squeezing out during baking since it's much more dense than jam. I will be making these time and time again; I'm sure of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Great recipe! This was so much fun to do with my niece. It produced great results and tasted really good too. The icing was a bit on the sweet side, but that's kinda how I remember pop-tarts being. Maybe that's why my mom didn't let me have that many of them for breakfast....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Wow, this was simple and so much better than the store bought pop up tarts. I had some trouble with mine but it was definite inexperience and mine looked a bit sad, but I took a pic of the best two. The jelly did run out when it was hot and made a mess in the pan, thank goodness for parchment paper! These cannot be heated in the toaster later like a store bought one that's for certain. I used frozen crust, but next time I would rather make my own from scratch or find a different pastry crust for this. Pie crust just tastes like pie crust especially when we tried these the next day cold. Mine took 9-10 minutes to get the right color. I had the temp set at 435* Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
My two year old & I made these together! They are such a good idea...we did some grape & some brown sugar and cinnamon...I preferred the latter! Can't wait to experiment with the filling a bit, really good recipe to involve the kids, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Home Made Top Tarts!

See how to make your favorite toaster pastries from scratch.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States