Home Made Top Tarts! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by metread
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Simple, good recipe. The kids really enjoyed helping and eating these. I do recommend, however that you wet the edge of the bottom pastry sheet before topping and sealing it, to ensure a good seal and prevent leaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yummy! I used the French Pastry Pie Crust from this site. These are adorable if you take cookie cutters and stack the shapes onto of each other. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made these this morning, they look like they take a lot of work, but they are very simple. I use Knotsberry Farm seedless strawberry jam for the center. I also chose to make 6 large or full size "top tarts" which worked out well. When I tasted them, I wasn't expecting the pie crusts to be so flaky. I used Pillsbury pie crusts, but after a few bites the taste grew on me more. I also cut the icing recipe in half and I there was enough to graciously ice each "top tart." They would be neat to bring to a brunch or morning potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
A lot of Fun! Easy to make! Very Tasty!! Thank-You for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise
Photo by MrsPestana
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Next time we are going to use a different dough and change up the icing as it just tasted off to us. Other than that these are easy to make and kid in the kitchen friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yum-O!!!! I made frosting with a little lemon juice in place of some of the milk to make the frosting less sweet. It worked. Very good. I only used one cup of sugar,1 tbsp milk, 1tsp vanilla, and a squirt or two of lemon juice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These are terrific! I got a little jiggy with it and tried a rhubarb/blackberry jelly I picked up at Frankenmuth, and also grape jelly because we're not too fond of strawberry jelly. The family ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Super easy to do! Kids and adults enjoy for a special breakfast treat! Very important to remember notto overfill the pockets. If they are bulging there is too much filling and it will seep out the edges when cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
How awesome these turned out! THey looked like real poptarts! I probably could have used a tiny bit more jam... I used sugar free and couldnt notice a difference in taste. The icing was great too. The store was out of refrigerated crusts, so frozen pie dough works well after it is thawed too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serioussifl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These were delicious! Very easy to make. I didn't worry about squaring up my dough. I just rolled both doughs out slightly, folded them in half, and then cut each into 4 pieces. Carefully unfold, fill, wet edges slightly and seal. This way the halves match up perfectly with their matching piece. I'm only rating it 4 stars because the baking time was way off. I had to bake mine more like 10-11 minutes. I also only used about 1 cup of powdered sugar, which made plenty of frosting for all 8 tarts. The kids loved them. Made half strawberry and half raspberry. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Home Made Top Tarts!

See how to make your favorite toaster pastries from scratch.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States