Home Made Top Tarts! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Delicious and oh so easy! I had pie crust that needed to be used ASAP, so I decided to give these a whirl. I used blackberry jam, because it's all I had on hand, but I'm sure that didn't change the perfect results. I think these would be great with any kind of jam! Me and my little guy had fun making them and decorating them. I did cut the frosting (which is sweet, but not overly) in half which still made plenty to frost all of them. These will definitely be a keeper in our house. Thanks for sharing the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Was looking for a fun activity when my grandkids came over last week and this was it. They loved putting their "combos" together, baking and of course decorating. I was able to use up bits and pieces of sprinkles, jimmys and other leftover decorations from my Christmas baking much to their delight and squeals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I had issues sealing the dough but that's my fault. these are easy and good and the kids liked helping. I used Polaner all fruit but will try jam next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I love these! They were easy & so much better than pop tarts. BF said these are a winner...I definately want more of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by metread
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Simple, good recipe. The kids really enjoyed helping and eating these. I do recommend, however that you wet the edge of the bottom pastry sheet before topping and sealing it, to ensure a good seal and prevent leaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yummy! I used the French Pastry Pie Crust from this site. These are adorable if you take cookie cutters and stack the shapes onto of each other. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made these this morning, they look like they take a lot of work, but they are very simple. I use Knotsberry Farm seedless strawberry jam for the center. I also chose to make 6 large or full size "top tarts" which worked out well. When I tasted them, I wasn't expecting the pie crusts to be so flaky. I used Pillsbury pie crusts, but after a few bites the taste grew on me more. I also cut the icing recipe in half and I there was enough to graciously ice each "top tart." They would be neat to bring to a brunch or morning potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
A lot of Fun! Easy to make! Very Tasty!! Thank-You for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise
Photo by MrsPestana
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Next time we are going to use a different dough and change up the icing as it just tasted off to us. Other than that these are easy to make and kid in the kitchen friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yum-O!!!! I made frosting with a little lemon juice in place of some of the milk to make the frosting less sweet. It worked. Very good. I only used one cup of sugar,1 tbsp milk, 1tsp vanilla, and a squirt or two of lemon juice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States