Home Made Top Tarts! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were delicious, but the jelly was like molten lava when they where heated. Even microwaving them later it was too runny. Maybe I'll try with Nutella next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
These were really good. I used home made pastry & jam. My daughter tinted the icing blue for some added fun.. thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Wow! This is a really good idea, it's seems really easy to bake, and I'm a beginner myself, so I don't do anything to challenging, and this.... it looks great, my mother is not a big fan of pop tarts... i guess to her, they are pretty much junk, but homemade pop tarts... well that might just change her mind :). So... thanks for the recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum girl :)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I will never buy pop tarts again!! very easy, filled mine with raspberry jam, nutella, and apple butter which I added some diced apples to...soooo good thank you so much for sharing....***as for the glaze I used a fork to drizzle a little on, it really doesn't need to be caked on, in this case a little bit goes along way. Next time I will just melt some vanilla frosting in the microwave to drizzle.. thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These are not good at all!they were fun to make but not good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
We did not care for this recipe. These are dry and fall apart when you try to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Nice pastries--and so easy. I made just one of these to use up some pie dough leftover from a pie, and I skipped the icing and sprinkles since I'm not a fan of frosted Pop Tarts. Perhaps because it was homemade, I had to cook a few minutes longer for a total of 10 mins, but that's no big deal. I'll make again when I have extra pie dough--or perhaps I'll make when I want Pop Tarts and we don't have any in the cupboard. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Huang
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Awesome idea! I loved making it, very easy. We live in China, have hawthornberries in season right now. So I used my homemade hawthornberry jam inside, which is kind of sour & sweet, turned out beautifully! So easy to do. My daughter loves it. Great breakfast/snack item
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These are so quick and easy to make. They taste great too. Actually just like store bought one's. We did not care for the frosting though. We have made them a few times and really dn't miss the frosting at all. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I had some store bought crust in my fridge and was eager to test this out. Nice concept, regrettably these were not a hit in our house. The crust lacks the flavor of pop tart crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Home Made Top Tarts!

See how to make your favorite toaster pastries from scratch.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States