Home Made Top Tarts! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made these using Stephanie's basic flaky pie crust recipe because I didn't have any of the store bought kind. I used corn starch and heat to thicken up some raspberry jam and while that was cooling I spread a little Nutella on each then spread the raspberry jam. I wet a finger and ran it around the edges of the crust one one side before closing. Then crimped with fork. I opted for no frosting on top and I loved them. My son preferred them sprinkled with powder sugar. Very yummy and a lot easier to make than I suspected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
These are so awesome and super easy to make. I would cut the glaze recipe in half though. I made it according to the recipe and I only needed less than half. It encouraged me to make another batch of the pop tarts though. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was a fun recipe. Well received at my house. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Cordingly Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
These are good, does need icing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were delicious, but the jelly was like molten lava when they where heated. Even microwaving them later it was too runny. Maybe I'll try with Nutella next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
These were really good. I used home made pastry & jam. My daughter tinted the icing blue for some added fun.. thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Wow! This is a really good idea, it's seems really easy to bake, and I'm a beginner myself, so I don't do anything to challenging, and this.... it looks great, my mother is not a big fan of pop tarts... i guess to her, they are pretty much junk, but homemade pop tarts... well that might just change her mind :). So... thanks for the recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum girl :)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I will never buy pop tarts again!! very easy, filled mine with raspberry jam, nutella, and apple butter which I added some diced apples to...soooo good thank you so much for sharing....***as for the glaze I used a fork to drizzle a little on, it really doesn't need to be caked on, in this case a little bit goes along way. Next time I will just melt some vanilla frosting in the microwave to drizzle.. thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These are not good at all!they were fun to make but not good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
We did not care for this recipe. These are dry and fall apart when you try to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Home Made Top Tarts!

See how to make your favorite toaster pastries from scratch.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States