Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Excellent homemade mayo. Simple to put together. I followed as written, was very impressed with the creamy texture! The flavor of the oil does come through, so be sure it's one you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Great Mayo - I used the egg yolk only and it worked really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA_LUSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I've never tried homemade mayo before, but this was a snap. I added a bit more lemon juice and only used 1/4 tsp minced garlic. It was perfect. It is key to stream the oil in slowly while blending/processing to allow it to emulsify. So easy, I may never buy mayo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I thought for sure I'd have an oily mess, but even though I used a food chopper and added the oil a little at a time, it still turn out great!! I got a little happy with the minced garlic but that's OK cause I love garlic! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I tried this using Olive oil and fresh lemon juice... it is amazing! Made the best egg salad my family has ever had, everyone should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was a fun recipe and my first time making mayonnaise. I used two cloves of garlic, put whole into the blender, which made it hot and very flavorful. The kids didn't care too much for it :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe was awsome, I totally messed up the part where you add the oil slowly, as I had heated it beforhand, this prevents the eggs from separating. well the mayo still came out perfectly! I also added chopped parsley to the mix to give it extra flavor. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is a great mayonnaise recipe. You need to use the blender to get it thick, and slowly pour the oil in. I used just a little garlic juice, from a jar of minced garlic. And I used white vinegar instead of lemon juice. Perfect when you are out of mayonnaise and don't want to go to the store - as any cook knows, "miracle whip" is no substitue for real mayonnaise in a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I am allergic to lemon, so I had to substitute Apple Cider vinegar instead, but it came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dash

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This might be totally out of the box for mayonnaise, but I used Eggbeaters and it turned out great! I added more garlic also, as I'll be using the mayo in a salad dressing, and it is also great. I may never buy mayonnaise again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States