Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I like this recipe so far but switch out the mustard and the lemon juice and replace it with white wine vinegar at least 2 tablespoons of it. and leave out the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Try this, use only the egg yoke and if you have time beat using a fork instead of the blender. I dunno why but the flavor is totaly different. Time consuming but worth it. Small amounts of oil each time while beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andres Martinez-Negrete

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I'm sorry, I didn't like this at all. The garlic just seemed overpowering to me and I love garlic. Thanks anway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEALCALF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
All I wanted was a tuna fish sandwich! Ran out of mayo so tried to make my own (I have lots of cooking experience and all the tools...but never made mayo before, we live in Japan too so going to the store isn't like back home). Ended up with an egg-nog looking dressing(!!!???). Didn't have more oil so couldn't make it over. Oh well...guess I'll have a peanut-butter and jelly sandwich instead. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I can't believe how incredibly easy this was! My deviled eggs are going to be incredible for Easter dinner! I think the mustard is a little strong and will cut that back the next time I make this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was a fun recipe and my first time making mayonnaise. I used two cloves of garlic, put whole into the blender, which made it hot and very flavorful. The kids didn't care too much for it :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This might be totally out of the box for mayonnaise, but I used Eggbeaters and it turned out great! I added more garlic also, as I'll be using the mayo in a salad dressing, and it is also great. I may never buy mayonnaise again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is a good recipe. The secret when making homemade mayonnaise is to pour the oil slowly while the blender is running. If the oil is poured to quickly or the blender is not on a high speed you get an oily mess. It is simple if you follow that simple rule. If you use olive oil it will have a strong taste, if you use canola oil it will be more like traditional mayonnaise. The most important thing though is this is the type of mayonnaise that you get food poisoning with if its left at room temperature because of the raw egg. DO NOT TAKE A POTATO SALAD TO A PICNIC AND LEAVE IT OUT. If you are going to a picnic use commercially prepared mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I tried this using Olive oil and fresh lemon juice... it is amazing! Made the best egg salad my family has ever had, everyone should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Well, it smelled like mayonnaise. I mixed mine in the Kitechenaid with the wisk. Maybe it would turn out better in a blender. Mine turned out runny and didn't taste that great. It was green/yellow in color. I think I'll stick to prepared mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States