Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I thought for sure I'd have an oily mess, but even though I used a food chopper and added the oil a little at a time, it still turn out great!! I got a little happy with the minced garlic but that's OK cause I love garlic! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe was awsome, I totally messed up the part where you add the oil slowly, as I had heated it beforhand, this prevents the eggs from separating. well the mayo still came out perfectly! I also added chopped parsley to the mix to give it extra flavor. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I am allergic to lemon, so I had to substitute Apple Cider vinegar instead, but it came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Belz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I did it! I had doubts that I could actually get it to work, but I did it. And on the first try, too. The flavor is good, not what I was expecting but better than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
We ran out of mayo' so I decided to make me own for the first time--I'd say it's definitely cheaper than buying it. Tastes just like store-bought mayo! Although next time I won't add as much mustard(I'll try half). Didn't add the garlic(wasn't really in the mood for "aioli"). Added 2/3 of a tbsp of white wine vinegar. Used corn oil instead of vegetable oil(I don't use vegetable oil-has quite a bit of pesticides in it). And I can't stress this enough--add oil slowly. Maybe tsp by tsp, no need to measure it out, but "eye it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Made this last night. While the taste was great the color was off. But I think that was my fault. Will make this again with half as much mustard and a different method for streaming in the oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is a great mayonnaise recipe. You need to use the blender to get it thick, and slowly pour the oil in. I used just a little garlic juice, from a jar of minced garlic. And I used white vinegar instead of lemon juice. Perfect when you are out of mayonnaise and don't want to go to the store - as any cook knows, "miracle whip" is no substitue for real mayonnaise in a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I've never tried homemade mayo before, but this was a snap. I added a bit more lemon juice and only used 1/4 tsp minced garlic. It was perfect. It is key to stream the oil in slowly while blending/processing to allow it to emulsify. So easy, I may never buy mayo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodfin Moll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Thanks this help me to get my on start on making mayonnaise Thanks so much.. Terry137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I like this recipe so far but switch out the mustard and the lemon juice and replace it with white wine vinegar at least 2 tablespoons of it. and leave out the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States