Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe was awsome, I totally messed up the part where you add the oil slowly, as I had heated it beforhand, this prevents the eggs from separating. well the mayo still came out perfectly! I also added chopped parsley to the mix to give it extra flavor. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I am allergic to lemon, so I had to substitute Apple Cider vinegar instead, but it came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Belz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I did it! I had doubts that I could actually get it to work, but I did it. And on the first try, too. The flavor is good, not what I was expecting but better than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
We ran out of mayo' so I decided to make me own for the first time--I'd say it's definitely cheaper than buying it. Tastes just like store-bought mayo! Although next time I won't add as much mustard(I'll try half). Didn't add the garlic(wasn't really in the mood for "aioli"). Added 2/3 of a tbsp of white wine vinegar. Used corn oil instead of vegetable oil(I don't use vegetable oil-has quite a bit of pesticides in it). And I can't stress this enough--add oil slowly. Maybe tsp by tsp, no need to measure it out, but "eye it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Made this last night. While the taste was great the color was off. But I think that was my fault. Will make this again with half as much mustard and a different method for streaming in the oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is a great mayonnaise recipe. You need to use the blender to get it thick, and slowly pour the oil in. I used just a little garlic juice, from a jar of minced garlic. And I used white vinegar instead of lemon juice. Perfect when you are out of mayonnaise and don't want to go to the store - as any cook knows, "miracle whip" is no substitue for real mayonnaise in a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I've never tried homemade mayo before, but this was a snap. I added a bit more lemon juice and only used 1/4 tsp minced garlic. It was perfect. It is key to stream the oil in slowly while blending/processing to allow it to emulsify. So easy, I may never buy mayo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodfin Moll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Thanks this help me to get my on start on making mayonnaise Thanks so much.. Terry137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I like this recipe so far but switch out the mustard and the lemon juice and replace it with white wine vinegar at least 2 tablespoons of it. and leave out the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Try this, use only the egg yoke and if you have time beat using a fork instead of the blender. I dunno why but the flavor is totaly different. Time consuming but worth it. Small amounts of oil each time while beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andres Martinez-Negrete

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States