Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My husband & I recently started the True Food lovers program and one of the steps is to become a label detective. It is truly amazing how many additives and preservatives are added to store bought mayo. This recipe is AMAZING! (I actually used eggbeaters as one reviewee suggested and wow!) My kids and husband can't get enough. Remember the trick to making this recipe perfectly, is to add the oil, REALLY slowly to the eggbase in the food processor. I WILL NEVER BUY STORE BOUGHT MAYO AGAIN (at least try :) Thank you for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was very good. I can see many possibilities to add different herbs/spices specific to the recipe you are using this with. I used a mini food processor but the immersion blender works the best as you don't have to pour the oil in slowly. You just add all the ingredients and blend. I used ½ cup grapeseed oil and ¼ cup roasted garlic grapeseed oil. I didn't add the garlic. I used lime juice instead of lemon. Next time I might try making this with the egg beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was very easy and turned out terrific. I cannot have soy or milk and love tuna and egg salad. Used this for the mayonnaise cookies also. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Won't use EVOO next time. It's too strong. I will try a milder oil. Overall it came out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
great texture and turned out great in my regular blender. i used olive oil though and i didn't really like the flavor so now i have mayo in the fridge i probably won't use! trying again today with regular oil and really excited to see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Quick, easy, and creamy, with just a hint of acidity. This fresh version is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is sooo good! For the garlic & salt part, I mixed equal parts of garlic powder & salt, then I used 1/4 teaspoon of it. I also only used a spot of mustard the size of a pencil eraser. No more store bought mayo for me! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
What a fun recipe! I never would have thought to make my own mayo (always assumed it'd be too tedious or time-consuming), but my mom was talking about tuna sandwiches and home-made mayo being a childhood treat, which got me thinking . . . and with this recipe, discovered it is neither tedious nor time-consuming! On the contrary!!!! I added a tad too much garlic (not a bad thing in and of itself—in fact, normally a GREAT thing in my book—but if using the mayo for a recipe that wouldn't use garlic, might be an issue), but otherwise, was an incredibly easy, deee-lish recipe! I used 1/2 c. canola oil and 1/4 olive oil and ground mustard, and my Cuisinart food processor to make the mayo. The cool thing about that is that the food pusher/plunger thingy of my Cuisinart is hollow, with a hole on the bottom; turned upside down, I was able to pour the oil through it, thus being able to control the speed at which I added the oil. Have to admit, this was a tip mentioned in the Cuisinart manual, not my own "discovery!" ;) As someone else said, I'll never be without mayo again! (well, unless I'm out of eggs, or oil . . . ) Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is a good recipe! I doubled the recipe, used 1/4 tsp of ground mustard instead of the prepared mustard and 2 cups of canola oil. I used my immersion blender to make this right in the jar. The secret to getting this to emulsify is to make sure your ingredients are room temperature. I add the oil slowly pouring from my measuring cup. I no longer use store bought mayonnaise. I am going to try this with different herbs also. Thanks for a good recipe. Oh... for those of you who want the miracle whip taste add 1 - 2 TBS of sugar... this will sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsygirl64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I really wanted to like this, but it tasted very mustardy to me. If I try it again I will definitely use half (or perhaps none) of the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States