Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is sooo good! For the garlic & salt part, I mixed equal parts of garlic powder & salt, then I used 1/4 teaspoon of it. I also only used a spot of mustard the size of a pencil eraser. No more store bought mayo for me! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
What a fun recipe! I never would have thought to make my own mayo (always assumed it'd be too tedious or time-consuming), but my mom was talking about tuna sandwiches and home-made mayo being a childhood treat, which got me thinking . . . and with this recipe, discovered it is neither tedious nor time-consuming! On the contrary!!!! I added a tad too much garlic (not a bad thing in and of itself—in fact, normally a GREAT thing in my book—but if using the mayo for a recipe that wouldn't use garlic, might be an issue), but otherwise, was an incredibly easy, deee-lish recipe! I used 1/2 c. canola oil and 1/4 olive oil and ground mustard, and my Cuisinart food processor to make the mayo. The cool thing about that is that the food pusher/plunger thingy of my Cuisinart is hollow, with a hole on the bottom; turned upside down, I was able to pour the oil through it, thus being able to control the speed at which I added the oil. Have to admit, this was a tip mentioned in the Cuisinart manual, not my own "discovery!" ;) As someone else said, I'll never be without mayo again! (well, unless I'm out of eggs, or oil . . . ) Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is a good recipe! I doubled the recipe, used 1/4 tsp of ground mustard instead of the prepared mustard and 2 cups of canola oil. I used my immersion blender to make this right in the jar. The secret to getting this to emulsify is to make sure your ingredients are room temperature. I add the oil slowly pouring from my measuring cup. I no longer use store bought mayonnaise. I am going to try this with different herbs also. Thanks for a good recipe. Oh... for those of you who want the miracle whip taste add 1 - 2 TBS of sugar... this will sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsygirl64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I really wanted to like this, but it tasted very mustardy to me. If I try it again I will definitely use half (or perhaps none) of the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Mine was kinda runny. I added the oil super slow as I read to do in other mayo recipes... I dunno. It was probably user error. I don't like mayo but I need it for recipes sometimes. It's a very useful recipe for someone who doesn't normally have it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I should have prepared myself. This is not Miracle whip that is for sure. and I am sure it would have tasted better if I had not used olive oil. I think I will experiment with it again though maybe use vegetable or canola oil and some sugar. But thank-you for teaching me how to make mayonnaise. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennywrinkles
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
If you use pasteurized eggs in this recipe, you won't have to worry about getting sick from it. :) Homemade mayonnaise makes all the difference in the world in potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Used this as a basic recipe. Did not add all of the garlic, used one clove pressed. I used 1/2 lemon juice and 1/2 white vinegar and added a touch of wasabi oil, turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Little too garlicky for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This mayonnaise turned out really nice. The mustard brings out a beautiful yellow tone. I used white vinegar instead of lemon juice as some suggested. Really loved this one. Makes about a cup. You have to be very careful about adding the oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States